Choose artist...
Vienna Philharmonic

2019 New Year's Concert

Sony Classical
Release Date: January 9, 2019

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


CES 2018 - Pro-ject 175th Anniversary Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra Turntable
1 Carl Michael Ziehrer: Schonfeld March op. 422  
2 Josef Strauss: Transactions Waltz op. 184  
3 Josef Hellmesberger: Elfin Dance  
4 Johann Strass the Younger: Express, polka schnell op. 311  
5 Pictures of the North Sea, waltz op. 390  
6 Eduard Strauss: Post-Haste, polka schnell op. 259  
7 Johann Strass the Younger: Overture to the operetta The Gypsy Baron  
8 Josef Strauss: The Ballerina op. 227  
9 Johann Strauss the Younger: Artists' Life, waltz op. 316  
10 The Bayadere, polka schnell op. 351  
11 Eduard Strauss: Opera Soiree, polka francaise op. 162  
12 Johann Strauss the Younger: Eva Waltz from the opera Knight Pazman  
13 Csardas from the opera Knight Pazman  
14 Egyptian March op. 335  
15 Joseph Hellmesberger: Entr'acte Waltz  
16 Johann Strauss the Younger: In Praise of Women, polka mazur op. 310  
17 Josef Strauss: Music of the Spheres, waltz op. 235  
Show all tracks

There are few concerts in the world that are awaited with as much excitement as the New Year's Concert from Vienna. Under the direction of Christian Thielemann, the Vienna Philharmonic ushers in the New Year with a concert in the magnificent Golden Hall of the Vienna Musikverein.

The concert is relayed to over ninety countries all round the world, reaching an audience of more than fifty million.

The 2019 New Year's Concert will be conducted for the first time by Christian Thielemann. A native of Berlin, Thielemann has been a regular and welcome guest of the Vienna Philharmonic since 2000, with the result that his first New Year's Concert may be seen as setting an example and providing an appropriate tribute to his previous work with the orchestra. According to the orchestra's chairman, Daniel Froschauer, orchestra and musicians trust each other completely: "The profound musical understanding and trust that have existed from the outset and that have always functioned perfectly have subsequently borne remarkable fruit in the symphonic repertory as well."

Go to artist details