Stories » NEA announces 2019 jazz masters / JazzTimes

Top 10 for Sep

NEA announces 2019 jazz masters / JazzTimes

Bookmark and Share

The National Endowment for the Arts today announced the recipients of its 2019 NEA Jazz Masters Fellowships: author/historian Stanley Crouch; the late vocalist/composer/arranger/pianist Bob Dorough; pianist/composer Abdullah Ibrahim; and composer/arranger/bandleader Maria Schneider. The 2019 recipients will be honored at a free tribute concert next April 15 at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C. The event will also be streamed online.

Schneider's music has been hailed by critics as "evocative," "majestic," "heart-stoppingly gorgeous," and "beyond categorization." Primarily known for her highly original and provocative big band compositions written over the past three decades, she is unique in having written classical works as well, even stepping into rock through a collaboration with David Bowie.

The NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert-produced in collaboration with the Kennedy Center, whose artistic director for jazz is Jason Moran-will feature performances in honor of the 2019 NEA Jazz Masters and will be free and open to the public.
PHOTO: Jimmy and Dena Katz