Stories » Derek Bermel talks about 'Migrations'

Top 10 for May

Derek Bermel talks about 'Migrations'

Bookmark and Share
DB talks about the 'Migrations'

'Migrations' provides a generous view of Derek Bermel's superb craftsmanship and eclectic style, in which classical forms, world music, jazz, blues and American folk music create a mix that reaches directly into the body and the heart. Commissioned by Wynton Marsalis, 'Migration Series' has its roots in African American music, its impeccable counterpoint and biting rhythms expressed through orchestration that sounds like a city coming to life. 'Mar de Setembro' was inspired by Luciana Souza's bell-toned voice and the intense feelings of Portuguese saudade, while 'A Shout, a Whisper, and a Trace' honors Bartók's last years in New York, referring to the Concerto for Orchestra as well as to jazz and Balkan music.

Luciana Souza, vocals

Derek Bermel, clarinet

Ted Nash, saxophones

Juilliard Jazz Orchestra

Albany Symphony

David Alan Miller, conductor