Stories » Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters opens nationwide. Original Soundtrack releases on Sony Music

Top 10 for Sep

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters opens nationwide. Original Soundtrack releases on Sony Music

Bookmark and Share

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters opens nationwide in the U.S. TODAY, August 7th 2013, and Sony Music is proud to announce the release of the original soundtrack by the Canadian composer Andrew Lockington and a new, previously unreleased song, "To Feel Alive", by IAMEVE.

Based on the best-selling book, PERCY JACKSON: SEA OF MONSTERS continues the young demigod's epic journey to fulfill his destiny.  To save their world, Percy and his friends must find the fabled and magical Golden Fleece.  Embarking on a treacherous odyssey into the uncharted waters of the Sea of Monsters (known to humans as the Bermuda Triangle), they battle terrifying creatures, an army of zombies, and the ultimate Evil.  To capture the fast-paced adventure and emotion of the film, Andrew Lockington was chosen to write the score and co-wrote the end-title track with ethereal pop artist IAMEVE.

Lockington has been writing music for feature films and television since 1997. He has composed the complete scores for over two dozen films, including work that received critical acclaim such as the music for Journey to the Center of the Earth and for hits at the Sundance Festival, Touch of Pink and How She Move. His orchestral score for the thriller Skinwalkers (2007) then led to work on big-budget films. In 2008 Lockington wrote the soundtrack for City of Ember (2008), starring Tim Robbins, Bill Murray and Saoirse Ronan, and produced by Tom Hanks. For this and for Journey to the Center of the Earth he received the Breakout Composer of the Year Award from the 2009 International Film Music Critics Association (IFCMA) Awards. For City of Ember he also garnered a nomination for Best Original Score for a Fantasy/Science Fiction Film.

The music for Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters is a large-scale orchestral score with a range of effects that underline the drama of the movie. The combination of mystery and excitement is evident in the opening track, "Thalia's Story". "Percy at the Lake" creates an atmosphere of peace with the liquid rippling of a harp, while Lockington shows his mastery of the moods of tension and danger in numbers such as "Colchis Bull" and "Belly of the Beast". He skilfully uses choral sounds to raise the intensity, as in the ethereal "The Shield is Gone" and "Wave Conjuring". "Wild Taxi Ride" introduces a surprise in the form of jazzy touches, but the prevailing moods are a wonderfully rendered sense of wonder, as in "Hippocampus" and the drumming rhythms of action sequences such as the track "Polyphemus". Near to the close, softer sounds return with the harp in "Annabeth and the Fleece" and the solo vocal of "Resurrection".

The film and soundtrack conclude with a sensation: "To Feel Alive", a song about the awakening of the character Thalia, composed by Andrew Lockington and the future-retro singer IAMEVE, who commented that "recording and seeing the song come to life in the studio was a one-of-a-kind experience. Andrew is a brilliant arranger and composer … I've never experienced anything like it. I feel so happy and grateful to have had the opportunity to work with phenomenal people and to see Thalia's song come to life in such a magical way."

IAMEVE's fine voice, by turns breathless, delicate and ethereal, dazzles above the instrumental foundation. Her style is reminiscent of the work of major female musicians such as Kate Bush, Florence and The Machine, Oh Land, and Lykke Li. In Andrew Lockington's words: "We'd experimented with a few different people singing the part, but once we heard [IAMEVE's]voice singing the theme in context with the picture and the score, we knew she was the one… After she brought so much emotion and magic to the Thalia theme in the score, it was a rush to shed that restrained emotion and hear her voice soar."

This wonderful track provides a memorable ending for the music of Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters. Fans of Percy Jackson and fine film music can look forward to its release on August 6th.

PERCY JACKSON: SEA OF MONSTERS will be in theatres August 7th.


1. Thalia's Story - Andrew Lockington
2. Percy At The Lake - Andrew Lockington
3. Colchis Bull - Andrew Lockington
4. The Shield Is Gone - Andrew Lockington
5. The Oracle's Prophecy - Andrew Lockington
6. Cursed Blade Shall Reap - Andrew Lockington
7. Wild Taxi Ride - Andrew Lockington
8. Hermes - Andrew Lockington
9. Hippocampus - Andrew Lockington
10. Onboard the Yacht - Andrew Lockington
11. Wave Conjuring - Andrew Lockington
12. Sea Of Monsters - Andrew Lockington
13. Belly Of The Beast - Andrew Lockington
14. New Coordinates - Andrew Lockington
15. Polyphemus - Andrew Lockington
16. Thank You Brother - Andrew Lockington
17. Kronos - Andrew Lockington
18. Annabeth and the Fleece - Andrew Lockington
19. Resurrection - Andrew Lockington
20. Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters - Main Titles - Andrew Lockington
21. To Feel Alive - IAMEVE