Stories » Angele Dubeau & La Pieta - Ludovico Einaudi: Portrait / CBC: First Listen

Top 10 for Nov

Angele Dubeau & La Pieta - Ludovico Einaudi: Portrait / CBC: First Listen

Bookmark and Share

Violinist Angèle Dubeau and her chamber orchestra La Pietà are back with a new release in their Portrait series on the Analekta label. Having already recorded albums devoted to the music of Philip Glass, Arvo Pärt and John Adams, they now turn their attention to Italian pianist/composer Ludovico Einaudi.

After graduating from the Milan Conservatory, Einaudi studied composition with Luciano Berio and seemed destined for success with traditional chamber and orchestral forms. But his interest in dance and multimedia projects pushed his career in a different direction. Today, Einaudi is recognized as one of his generation's leading composers of film and TV scores and his music incorporates classical, pop, ambient and world music styles.

Einaudi also performs and records his own piano music to great popular acclaim.

"This grand and prolific Italian composer creates works that dwell within us for a long time," writes Dubeau in the album's liner notes. "A music that captivates the listener; a sonic landscape to discover."

All tracks arranged by Dubeau and François Vallières except "Passaggio" and "Sarabande."

1. "Life"

2. "I giorni"

3. "Experience"

4. "Giorni dispari"

5. "Run"

6. "Time Lapse"

7. "Fuori dalla notte"

8. "Fuori dal mondo"

9. "Indaco"

10. "Passaggio"

11. "Sarabande"

12. "Svanire"

13. "Divenire"