Stories » 88.3WBGO: Take Five features new music by Diana Krall

Top 10 for Oct

88.3WBGO: Take Five features new music by Diana Krall

Bookmark and Share

The last time we hailed a new album by Diana Krall, she was traveling in tandem - with her dear friend Tony Bennett, for a program of Gershwin tunes. Krall's next release will be a solo endeavor, but one with a phantom collaborator close at hand. This Dream of You, which Verve will release on Sept. 25, features material she had been working on with producer Tommy LiPuma, before he died in 2017.

The first single from the album is a calmly smoldering take on Irvin Berlin's "How Deep is the Ocean," featuring Krall on piano, Marc Ribot on guitar, Stuart Duncan on fiddle, Tony Garnier on bass and Karriem Riggins on drums. The same crew plays on the album's title track, a recent-vintage Bob Dylan tune; elsewhere Krall enlists a handful of other regular collaborators, like bassist John Clayton, drummer Jeff Hamilton and guitarist Anthony Wilson.

Diana Krall's This Dream of You will be released on Sept. 25