Stories » Maria Schneider receives '2016 ASCAP Foundation - Life in Music Award' / MARKET WIRED

Top 10 for Sep

Maria Schneider receives '2016 ASCAP Foundation - Life in Music Award' / MARKET WIRED

Bookmark and Share

The ASCAP Foundation last night honored acclaimed choral music composer Morten Lauridsen and groundbreaking jazz composer and bandleader Maria Schneider with The ASCAP Foundation Life in Music Award. The accolades were presented at The 2016 ASCAP Foundation Honors at the Appel Room and Ertegun Atrium in Jazz at Lincoln Center's Frederick P. Rose Hall, Broadway at 60th Street, New York City. The ASCAP Foundation Life in Music Award is presented by The ASCAP Foundation to an ASCAP writer member for his or her outstanding accomplishments as a composer, songwriter, performer, arranger or vocalist in any genre. The 21st annual event also honored and featured performances from scholarship and award recipients in an array of music genres including classical, jazz, musical theater, pop, country and rhythm & soul, all of whom benefit from programs of The ASCAP Foundation.

The Maria Schneider Duo celebrated Schneider's honor with a performance of her composition "Walking By Flashlight." Other outstanding performances by this year's honorees included "Good Go Bad," from Brad Blackburn, Leon Brettler Award winner; "Heart Like a Phoenix," from Kate Copeland, Robert Allen Award winner; "Breaking Point," from Roxy Coss, Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award winner; "New York City Lights," from Charles Duke, "Reach Out and Touch" Award winner in honor of Nick Ashford; "Bad Night in Heaven" from Kison, Desmond Child Anthem Award winner; and "Point G" from Ali Can Puskulcu, Morton Gould Young Composer Award winner.

Here is a full list of 2016 honorees



Harold Adamson Lyric Awards

Country - Lonnie Lee Fowler

Musical Theatre - Benj Pasek & Justin Paul

R&S - Niré Alldai, Aaron 'ys' Dales,

Raleigh Dunn (of TheVAMP), Maya Milan, Frankie P,

Cesar "Pearl Gates" Perez, Jr. & Rent Money

Pop - Justin Hariz & Ben Samama [Oktavian]

Robert Allen Award

Kate Copeland

Cheín Garcia Alonso Scholarship

Jorddy Romero

Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards

Emily Bear, David Bernot, Paul Bloom, Esteban Castro, Mario Castro, Michael Conrad, Roxy Coss, Natalie Dietz, Lukas Gabric, Joshua Green, Dave Hassell, Taylor Herron, Gene Knific, Jodie Landau, Remy Le Boeuf, Roos Plaatsman, Jonathan Saraga, Jeremy Siskind & Christopher Zuar

Honorable Mentions - Andrew D. Herring,

Andrew Karboski, Josh Shpak, Alexander Weitz

& Matthew Whitaker

Harold Arlen Film & TV Award

Jules Pegram

Harold Arlen Musical Theatre Award

Andrea Daly

Louis Armstrong Scholarships

at Queens College

Jacques Boudreau

at the University of New Orleans

Jack Vogt

"Reach Out and Touch" Award

in honor of Nick Ashford

Charles Duke

Irving Berlin Summer Camp Scholarship

Arté Warren

Leonard Bernstein Award

Saevar Rodine

Freddy Bienstock Scholarship & Internship

Alexandra Tamashunas

Boosey & Hawkes Young Composer Award

honoring Aaron Copland

Lila Meretzky

Leon Brettler Award

Brad Blackburn

Irving Burgie Scholarship

Shania Wilcox

Irving Caesar Scholarships

Leah Brekke, Marcandrew Martinez

Sammy Cahn Award

Caylee Anna Hammack

Desmond Child Anthem Award


Eunice & Hal David Merit Award

Caleb Collins

Fran Morgenstern Davis Scholarship

Willie Beaton II

Matthew Wong

Jamie deRoy & friends Award

Shelly Markham

DreamWorks Animation

Musical Theatre Scholarship

in honor of Stephen Schwartz

Mina Bloom, Rachel Gilbert, Tristan Mclntyre,

Dylan Schifrin, Bailey Share-Aizic & Juan Solis

Louis Dreyfus Warner/Chappell

City College Scholarship

honoring George & Ira Gershwin

Jasmin Klinger

Max Dreyfus Scholarship

Rachel Dean

Fellowship for Composition at

The Aspen Musical Festival & School

Andrew Hsu

Ira Gershwin Scholarship

Allie Quan

Jay Gorney Award

Scott Evan Davis

Morton Gould Young Composer Awards

Natalie Dietterich - Leo Kaplan Award

Paris Lavidis - Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship

Daniel Allas, Ermir Bejo, Trevor Bumgarner, Thérèse-Marie Chaix, Thomas Dougherty, Jess Larsen, Sky Macklay, David Mettens, Ali Can Puskulcu, Marco-Adrián Ramos, Jake Runestad, Barry Sharp & Alyssa Weinberg

Honorable Mentions - Frazar P. Henry,

Joel Rust, Peter Shin & Phil Taylor

Harold Heiberg Vocal/Accompanying


Rebecca Hansen, Levi Hernandez

Jerry Herman Broadway Legacy Prize

Anthony Hurd, Rhetta Kampel,

Brian Ross Klimowski, Morgan Kruger

Fred Ho Award

Marie Incontrera

Bart Howard Scholarship

at Belmont University

Christine Mason Schmitt

at Berklee College of Music

Julia Battistin, Jeffrey Gaiser

BMG Scholarship

in honor of Quincy Jones

Jillian Young

Steve Kaplan TV & Film Studies Award

Marco ValerIo Antonini

Michelle & Dean Kay Award

Nicolas Repetto

Leiber & Stoller Music Scholarship

Emma Wernig

Frederick Loewe Scholarship

Benji Goldsmith

Barbara & John LoFrumento Award

Music Conservatory of Westchester

Music Therapy Institute

Eastchester School District

Henry Mancini Music Fellowship

Michael Dean Parsons

Johnny Mandel Prize

Christopher Zuar

Vic Mizzy Scholarship

Erik DeLong

Rudolf Nissim Prize

Vincent Calianno

Cole Porter Award

Brett Ryback

Louis Prima Award

Brian Richburg, Jr.

Joe Raposo Children's Music Award

Dan Bern

Joan & Irwin Robinson Scholarship

Anthony Kott

Betty Rose Scholarship

Drew Mikuska

David Rose Award

Dan Martinez

Jimmy Van Heusen Award

Maxwell Karmazyn

Mariana & Paul Williams

Sunlight of the Spirit Award

Nick Patyk

Lucille & Jack Yellen Award

Shaina Taub

About The ASCAP Foundation

Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education, talent development and humanitarian programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. Learn more and stay in touch at, on Twitter @ascapfoundation, and on Facebook.