Choose artist...
Yuja Wang

The Vienna Recital

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: May 3, 2024

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Yuja Wang, World-Class Pianist | British Vogue & Rolex
1 Albéniz: No. 10, Málaga [Iberia, T. 105 / Book 4] 04:57  
2 Scriabin: I. Drammatico [Piano Sonata No. 3 in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 23] 06:35  
3 Scriabin: II. Allegretto [Piano Sonata No. 3 in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 23] 02:50  
4 Scriabin: III. Andante [Piano Sonata No. 3 in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 23] 04:40  
5 Scriabin: IV. Presto con fuoco [Piano Sonata No. 3 in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 23] 05:55  
6 Kapustin: No. 11 [24 Jazz Preludes, Op. 53] 02:41  
7 Kapustin: No. 10 [24 Jazz Preludes, Op. 53] 01:50  
8 Albéniz: No. 9, Lavapiés [Iberia, T. 105 / Book 3] 05:46  
9 Beethoven: I. Allegro [Piano Sonata No. 18 in E-Flat Major, Op. 31 No. 3 06:17  
10 Beethoven: II. Scherzo. Allegretto vivace [Piano Sonata No. 18 in E-Flat Major, Op. 31 No. 3 03:28  
11 Beethoven: III. Minuet. Moderato e grazioso 3:02  
12 Beethoven: IV. Presto con fuoco 3:46  
13 Ligeti: No. 6, Automne à Varsovie [Études, Book 2] 04:52  
14 Ligeti: No. 13, L'escalier du diable [Études, Book 2] 05:01  
15 Glass: No. 6 [Études] 02:47  
16 Márquez: Danzón No. 2 (Transcr. Gómez-Tagle for Piano) 03:46  
17 Brahms: No. 3 in C-Sharp Minor. Andante con moto [3 Intermezzi, Op. 117] 06:46  
18 Yuja Wang - Gluck: Melodie dell'Orfeo (Arr. Sgambati for Piano) [Orfeo ed Euridice, Wq. 30] 3:06  
Show all tracks

“Yuja Wang sent the Konzerthaus into raptures … the hall went wild!” 117 No. 3, and further back in time again for the final work on the album, the “Dance of the Blessed Spirits” from Gluck’s Orphée et Eurydice, as arranged for solo piano under the title Mélodie by the 19th-century composer-pianist Giovanni Sgambati – one of Yuja’s favouriteKapustin, via music by Albéniz, Beethoven, Glass, Scriabin and more. As can be heard on her forthcoming album, taken from that acclaimed recital, Yuja displayed an effortless ease in switching between different eras and genres. Yuja Wang – The Vienna Recital will be released by Deutsche Grammophon on CD, on vinyl (2 LPs) and digitally on 3 May 2024, with three tracks issued ahead of the album: the third movement (Andante) of Scriabin’s Piano Sonata No. 3 on 22 March, Philip Glass’s Étude No. 6 on 5 April and Kapustin’s Jazz Prelude No. 10 on 19 April. Subscribers to STAGE+ can enjoy the filmed performance on the DG platform right now. 
Reviewing the recital Yuja had given in London a few days earlier, Bachtrack noted that its “unpredictability added to [the] palpable excitement in a packed Royal Festival Hall”. Despite, or perhaps because of its eclecticism, this is unquestionably a programme with its own life, ebbing and flowing and creating a cohesive whole from its seemingly disparate musical elements. 
Yuja opens, for example, with music by one of her famous forebears – the prodigious pianist and composer Isaac Albéniz. The modal tones of “Málaga” from his Iberia collection make it an unexpectedly perfect prelude to Scriabin’s epic and restlessly chromatic Third Piano Sonata. Similarly, the bluesy verve of the Kapustin Jazz Preludes that follow sets the scene for a return to Iberia and the vibrant colours and rhythms of “Lavapiés”.

Go to artist details