Choose artist...
Yuja Wang

Rachmaninoff w/LA Phil. - Gustavo Dudamel

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: September 8, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Rachmaninoff: Paganini Rhapsody: Var. 24
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 4, Op. 40: II. Largo
Yuja Wang, World-Class Pianist | British Vogue & Rolex
1 Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor op. 18 – 1. Moderato  
2 2. Adagio sostenuto  
3 3. Allegro scherzando  
4 Piano Concerto No. 1 in F sharp minor op. 1 – 1. Vivace – Moderato  
5 2. Andante  
6 3. Allegro vivace  
7 Piano Concerto No. 4 in G minor op. 40 – 1. Allegro vivace  
8 2. Largo  
9 3. Allegro vivace  
10 Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini op. 43 – Introduction – Variation I  
11 Tema  
12 Variation II  
13 Variation III  
14 Variation IV  
15 Variation V  
16 Variation VI  
17 Variation VII  
18 Variation VIII  
19 Variation IX  
20 Variation X  
21 Variation XI  
22 Variation XII  
23 Variation XIII  
24 Variation XiV  
25 Variation XV  
26 Variation XVI  
27 Variation XVII  
28 Variation XVIII  
29 Variation XiX  
30 Variation XX  
31 Variation XXI  
32 Variation XXII  
33 Variation XXIII  
34 Variation XXIV  
35 Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor op. 30 – 1. Allegro ma non tanto  
36 2. Intermezzo. Adagio  
37 3. Finale. Alla breve  
Show all tracks

Los Angeles, the city in which Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943) spent the last few months of his life, played host to an exceptional festival of music last February. As part of this year’s Rachmaninoff 150 celebrations, Yuja Wang joined the Los Angeles Philharmonic and its Music and Artistic Director Gustavo Dudamel over two consecutive weekends to perform all four of the composer’s piano concertos and the Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini. Deutsche Grammophon were there to capture their sold-out and critically acclaimed performances live at Walt Disney Concert Hall. Rachmaninoff: The Piano Concertos and Paganini Rhapsody is now set for release on 2 CDs, 3 LPs and digitally on 1 September 2023. The Allegro vivace finale of Piano Concerto No. 1 comes out as an e single and e video on 23 June; the filmed cycle of five performances will be premiered on STAGE+ on 24 June and will also be available on the LA Phil’s online concert series SOUND/STAGE later in September. 
A formidably talented pianist himself, Rachmaninoff wrote a wide range of expressive, idiomatic music for his own instrument, including these five dazzling large-scale works for piano and orchestra. They have been part of Yuja Wang’s repertoire since the start of her career, and she continues to bring fresh insights to their kaleidoscopic riches. She has collaborated with Gustavo Dudamel and the Los Angeles Philharmonic many times, and a powerful sense of mutual respect and understanding is conveyed through these performances.  As Dudamel notes, “We connect as if we were playing chamber music.”

Go to artist details