Home » Artists » Sing Me Home

Yo-Yo Ma & Silk Road Ensemble: Bio

"Every time I open a newspaper, I am reminded that we live in a world where we can no longer afford not to know our neighbors. The Silk Road Project is a musical way to get to know our neighbors." - Yo-Yo Ma

Yo-Yo Ma, cellist, has recorded nearly 50 albums and won 14 Grammy Awards. In classical performances, as in his exploration of musical forms outside of the Western classical tradition, Ma strives to find connections that stimulate the imagination. One of Ma's goals is the exploration of music as a means of communication and as a vehicle for the migration of ideas across a range of cultures throughout the world. He established the Silk Road Project to promote the study of cultural, artistic and intellectual traditions along the ancient Silk Road trade routes. Ma was born in Paris to Chinese parents who later moved the family to New York. He began to study cello at the age of four, and is a graduate of the Juilliard School and Harvard University.

Yo-Yo Ma founded and serves as the Artistic Director for the Silk Road Project. He performs with the Silk Road Ensemble, appears on the album Silk Road Journeys: When Strangers Meet and was featured in the photo exhibit entitled The Silk Road Ensemble: Portraits and Places. Ma sometimes performs on the morin khuur [MOO rin HOOR] (Mongolian horsehead fiddle). Visit Yo-Yo Ma's official site (www.yo-yoma.com) to learn more about his recordings.

1 Green (Vincent's Tune)
2 O'Neill's Cavalry March
3 Little Birdie
4 Ichichila
5 Sadila Jana
6 Shingashi Song
7 Madhoushi
8 Wedding
9 Going Home
10 Cabalino
11 St. James Infirmary Blues
12 If You Shall Return
13 Heart and Soul
The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and The Silk Road Ensemble Trailer
The Silk Road Project: Dong-Won Kim

The latest album by Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble will surprise and delight, with guest performers and imaginative sounds that transform the traditional musical landscape. Sing Me Home is the sixth album by the Grammy-nominated Silk Road Ensemble and its founding member and guiding light Yo-Yo Ma. Available from Sony Music Masterworks. Sing Me Homeis a companion album, developed and recorded alongside The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble, a documentary feature from Oscar® and Emmy-winning director Morgan Neville that tells the story of the Ensemble and Silkroad, its parent organization. The Music of Strangers is slated for theatrical release in June.

14 NEW  272 Total
SYND: NPR/ATC & Thistle & Shamrock, APM/Performance Today, PRI/C24, Echoes & The World, Sing Out!, Jazzfm
Direct: SiriusXM, Music Choice, MOOD
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco, Philadelphia, Boston, Cleveland, Minneapolis, Seattle, St. Louis, Detroit, Denver, Portland, Pittsburgh, Baltimore, New Orleans, San Diego, Milwaukee, Albuquerque, Berkeley CA, San Antonio, Louisville, Wichita, Madison WI, Boulder CO., Montreal, Vancouver, Amsterdam
INTER: Canada, UK, Ireland, Mexico, Netherlands, Australia, New Zealand
Online: axs, CCTV, FilmNewEurope.com, MOVE - Maneater, The Bluegrass Situation Mother Jones, HuffPost, Parade.com, Musicas Imaginadas, allmusic, Bass Player, Wall Street Journal, MusicTAP, Musical Shapes, SONGLiNES, Yam Mag, yesasia.com, PopMatters, Taintradio, Smithsonian.com, Soulandjazz.com, JazzTimes, JazzPolice, examiner, SLANT, Metro, WSJ, Classical Candor, Quisqueya, RootsWorld, Observer.com, Hollywood Reporter, IndiWire