Home » Artists » Beyond the Horizon

Yo-Yo Ma & Silk Road Ensemble: Bio

Yo-Yo Ma conceived Silkroad in 1998 as a reminder that even as rapid globalization resulted in division, it brought extraordinary possibilities for working together. Seeking to understand this dynamic, he began to learn about the historical Silk Road, recognizing in it a model for productive cultural collaboration, for the exchange of ideas and tradition alongside commerce and innovation. And in a radical experiment, he brought together musicians from the lands of the Silk Road to co-create a new artistic idiom, a musical language founded in difference, a metaphor for the benefits of a more connected world.

Today, these Grammy Award-winning artists seek and practice radical cultural collaboration in many forms, creating and presenting new music, teacher and musician training workshops, and residency programs in schools, museums, and communities.

Silkroad has recorded seven albums. Sing Me Home, which won the 2016 Grammy for Best World Music Album was developed and recorded alongside the documentary feature The Music of Strangers, from Oscar-winning director Morgan Neville.

1 Mohini  
2 Oasis  
3 Distant Green Valley  
4 Akhalqalaqi Dance  
5 Echoes of A Lost City  
6 Mountains Are Far Away  
7 Yanzi  
8 Battle Remembered  
9 Summer In the High Grassland  
10 Kor Arab  
11 Shikasta  
12 Night At the Caravanserai  
13 Gallop Of A Thousand Horses  
14 Tarang  
15 Sacred Cloud Music  
The Silk Road Journey
Wedding Live @ SiriusXM // Symphony Hall
The Silk Road Project: Dong-Won Kim
The virtuoso collective Silkroad Ensemble makes their Queensland debut
What is Silkroad?
SILKROAD | What does it mean to be fearlessly human?

Cellist Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble continue to explore the musical cultures that flourished along the Silk Road – the ancient trade route between China and the West – with their latest recording for Sony Classical, entitled Silk Road Journeys: Beyond the Horizon. The recording will be released just as the performers embark on a brief tour of major U.S. cities. Silk Road Journeys: Beyond the Horizon will be released on Tuesday, April 5, 2005.

24 Stations "ON"    
Markets include: 
Los Angeles, Boston, Cleveland, Kansas City, New Orleans