Home » Artists » A Playlist Without Borders

Yo-Yo Ma & Silk Road Ensemble: Bio

"Every time I open a newspaper, I am reminded that we live in a world where we can no longer afford not to know our neighbors. The Silk Road Project is a musical way to get to know our neighbors." - Yo-Yo Ma

Yo-Yo Ma, cellist, has recorded nearly 50 albums and won 14 Grammy Awards. In classical performances, as in his exploration of musical forms outside of the Western classical tradition, Ma strives to find connections that stimulate the imagination. One of Ma's goals is the exploration of music as a means of communication and as a vehicle for the migration of ideas across a range of cultures throughout the world. He established the Silk Road Project to promote the study of cultural, artistic and intellectual traditions along the ancient Silk Road trade routes. Ma was born in Paris to Chinese parents who later moved the family to New York. He began to study cello at the age of four, and is a graduate of the Juilliard School and Harvard University.

Yo-Yo Ma founded and serves as the Artistic Director for the Silk Road Project. He performs with the Silk Road Ensemble, appears on the album Silk Road Journeys: When Strangers Meet and was featured in the photo exhibit entitled The Silk Road Ensemble: Portraits and Places. Ma sometimes performs on the morin khuur [MOO rin HOOR] (Mongolian horsehead fiddle). Visit Yo-Yo Ma's official site (www.yo-yoma.com) to learn more about his recordings.

Yo-Yo Ma & Silk Road Ensemble

A Playlist Without Borders

Sony Masterworks

Click Here For Artist Stories

1 Playlist For An Extreme Occasion: Part Zero
2 Part One
3 Part Two
4 Part Three
5 Part Four
6 Part Five
7 Cristina's Interlude
8 Part Six
9 Night Thoughts
10 Saidi Swing
11 Allegretto from Partita, Op. 31, for Cello Solo
12 Atashgah
13 Cut The Rug: Drag The Goat
14 CTR: Bury The Hatchet
15 CTR: Move The Earth
16 CTR: Wake The Dead
17 Briel
The Making of A Playlist Without Borders
A Playlist Without Borders: Colin Jacobson
A Playlist Without Borders: Cristina Pato
A Playlist Without Borders: Nicholas Cords
A Playlist Without Borders: Sandeep Das
A Playlist Without Borders: Yo-Yo Ma
A Playlist Without Borders: Shane Shanahan
The Silk Road Project: Dong-Won Kim

The Silk Road Project has been on a mission to promote innovation and cross-cultural understanding through the arts for the last 15 years. The newest chapter comes with the Sony Masterworks release of the new album A Playlist Without Borders from the Silk Road Ensemble with Yo-Yo Ma. This is the groundbreaking group's fifth recording and first since 2009's Grammy-nominated Off the Map. The deluxe edition includes the CD and a DVD, Live from Tanglewood, featuring live concert footage of two performances on June 22nd and 24th, 2012, at the Tanglewood Music Festival in Lenox, Massachusetts, as well as insightful and intimate behind-the-scenes interviews with the musicians.

24 New 'ON' this week:  109 Total
SYND: NPR, Undercurrents
Direct: SiriusXM, Spafax
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Boston, Philadelphia, Cleveland, Houston, Minneapolis, Denver, Milwaukee, Austin, New Orleans, Albuquerque, Berkeley, San Antonio, El Paso, Wichita, Boulder CO, Hartford CT., Rochester NY
Online: Taintradio, David Bruce