Choose artist...
Yannick Nezet-Seguin

Introspection - Solo Piano Sessions

Deutsche Grammophon

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Yannick Nezet-Seguin on Programming Philadelphia Orchestra Concerts
Tchaikovsky: Fantasy-Overture 'Romeo and Juliet' (Yannick Nezet-Seguin)
1 Debussy: Preludes / Book 1, L. 117: No. 10. La cathedrale engloutie 07:00  
2 Chopin: Nocturnes, Op. 37: No. 1 in G Minor. Andante sostenuto 07:31  
3 Brahms: 2 Rhapsodies, Op. 79: No. 2 in G Minor 07:24  
4 Brahms: 4 Piano Pieces, Op. 119: No. 1 in B Minor. Intermezzo. Adagio 04:31  
5 D. Scarlatti: Keyboard Sonata in B Minor, Kk. 87 07:02  
6 Rachmaninoff: Moments Musicaux, Op. 16: No. 3 in B Minor. Andante cantabile 07:55  
7 Mozart: Adagio in B Minor, K. 540 14:14  
8 Champagne: D'apres Hopper 06:36  
9 J.S. Bach: Toccata in D Minor, BWV 913: I. Allegro 00:52  
10 II. Adagio 01:48  
11 III. Presto. Fuga 03:45  
12 IV. Adagio - Andante 02:43  
13 V. Allegro e Presto. Fuga 04:26  
14 Shostakovich: 24 Preludes and Fugues, Op. 87 / No. 1 in C Major: I. Prelude 02:50  
15 II. Fugue 03:56  
16 Schubert: 4 Impromptus, Op. 90, D. 899: No. 1 in C Minor. Allegro molto moderato 10:36  
17 Berio: 6 Encores: III. Wasserklavier 03:24  
18 Haydn: Keyboard Sonata No. 33 in C Minor, Hob.XVI:20: I. Moderato 12:03  
19 II. Andante con moto 09:15  
20 III. Finale: Allegro 07:35  
21 Debussy: Children's Corner, L. 113: V. The Little Shepherd  
Show all tracks

Famous conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin is also a versatile pianist. In Summer 2020, when the pandemic turned down most of the cultural life all over the world, he found, as he describes it, "kind of a salvation" in playing the piano – and recorded his very first Piano Solo Album, inspired also by the memory of his admired teacher Anisia Campos who had passed away that year.

Playing the piano "gave me an opportunity for introspection, something that I think most of us did – not only artists and musicians, but every human being – recalibrating our priorities, what our purpose is in life, and what our aspirations are", says Yannick Nézet-Séguin about this project. However, "now that I'm a conductor, when I go back to my instrument, I especially want to find the intimacy and the softer colors, the soothing ones and also the painful ones, the unknown areas where composers go".

"It was important for me to reflect the whole range of repertoire that Madame Campos taught me," continues Yannick Nézet-Séguin "and to offer this album as a journey through some very dark and intimate places, but also through some dreamy ones, more positive and hopeful. It's a broad spectrum from Scarlatti to today." One piece included on this album (D‘après Hopper) has been composed especially for Yannick Nézet-Séguin by the great composer Éric Champagne and dedicated to him during the pandemic.    

Go to artist details