Home » Artists » Ammonite (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Volker Bertelmann, Dustin O'Halloran: Bio

Volker Bertelmann is an internationally-acclaimed pianist, composer and experimental musician. His score for Garth Davis' Oscar-nominated film Lion, which he composed in collaboration with Dustin O'Halloran, was nominated for multiple awards: for the 2016 Oscar for Best Original Score, for the 2016 Golden Globes for Best Original Score, for Best Score at the 2016 Critics' Choice Awards, for Best Original Score-Feature Film at the 2016 Hollywood Music in Media Awards, and for Best Film Music at the 2016 British Academy Film Awards, or BAFTAs. Since then, Bertelmann has provided music for several leading films and television series. He composed the score for Patrick Melrose, Showtime's Emmy-and BAFTA nominated mini-series, and for Gunpowder, the HBO mini-series starring Kit Harington. He also composed film scores for Adrift, the 2018 romantic drama directed by Baltasar Kormákur, and, again in collaboration with O'Halloran, for The Art of Racing in The Rain, which is based on the best-selling novel by Garth Stein. In 2018, he accepted an invitation to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Bertelmann, who in his solo work goes by the name Hauschka, is a uniquely innovative pianist; he is renowned both for his trademark sound, which he achieves by preparing the piano with various small objects, and his ability to improvise entire performances. His output is prodigious: he tours extensively, and has produced over twenty albums and EPs, both solo and in collaboration with others. He has worked, among many others, with the MDR Leipzig Radio Symphony Orchestra, where he was the artist in residence, with Múm, the Icelandic experimental musical group, and with the Grammy-winning violinist Hilary Hahn.

Dustin O'Halloran is an American pianist and composer with four acclaimed solo albums under his own name, and is a member of the band A Winged Victory for the Sullen with Adam Wiltzie. He released his first EP for renowned classical musical label Deutsche Grammophon in 2019, with a new album currently in the works, and A Winged Victory For The Sullen released their latest album, The Undivided Five, on Ninja Tune the same year.

O'Halloran's film career began with Sofia Coppola's Marie Antoinette (2006), and since then he's worked on multiple films and TV shows, including Like Crazy (2011) and Breathe In (2013), directed by Drake Doremus and both starring Felicity Jones. He also scored Marc Turtletaub's Puzzle (2018), for whose closing song he collaborated with veteran Scandinavian chart-topper Ane Brun, and George Tillman Jr.'s critically acclaimed The Hate U Give (2018).

He's the winner of a 2015 Emmy Award for his main title theme to Amazon's comedy drama

Transparent (2014–2017), and was nominated for an Oscar, a Golden Globe, a BAFTA and a Critics Choice Award for his score to Lion (2016), written in collaboration with Volker Bertelmann (aka Hauschka). He also collaborated with Bertelmann to score A Christmas Carol (2019) starring Guy Pearce, Ammonite (2020) starring Kate Winslet and Saoirse Ronan, and The Old Guard (2020) starring Charlize Theron. Other collaborations include with Bryan Senti on the Sky TV series Save Me (2018–).

In addition, he worked as a producer for Katy Perry's song ‘Into Me You See' from her 2017 album, Witness, and appears on Leonard Cohen's 2019 posthumous album, Thanks For The Dance.

O'Halloran lives in Los Angeles and Reykjavik.

Volker Bertelmann, Dustin O'Halloran

Ammonite (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Milan Records - Sony Masterworks

Click Here For Artist Stories

1 Fossils  
2 Strong Enough  
3 Dig  
4 Leave  
5 Boat  
6 Post  
7 Beach  
8 End  
9 Aria - Peter Gregson  
Official Trailer

Milan Records today releases Ammonite (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) with music by Dustin O'Halloran and Volker Bertelmann. Available everywhere now, the album features music written by the duo for director Francis Lee's critically-acclaimed film starring Kate Winslet and Saoirse Ronan. Continuing a fruitful creative partnership, the nine-track album features music co-composed by O'Halloran and Bertelmann, who previously teamed on the Academy® Award, BAFTA, and Golden Globe® Award-nominated score for 2016's Lion, A Christmas Carol and more.  Following its world premiere at the 2020 Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), NEON opens the film in select theaters today. 

Crossover Media Projects with: Volker Bertelmann, Dustin O'Halloran