Choose artist...
Vikingur Olafsson

Philip Glass - Piano Works

Deutsche Grammophon

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Opening  
2 No. 9  
3 No. 2  
4 No. 6  
5 No. 5  
6 No. 14  
7 No. 2 (reworked by Christian Badzura)  
8 No. 13  
9 No. 15  
10 No. 3  
11 No. 18  
12 No. 20  
13 Opening (reworked by Christian Badzura)  
Show all tracks

For Icelandic pianist Víkingur Ólafsson's debut album on Deutsche Grammophon, he is performing selections of Philip Glass's Piano Etudes to be released on January 27, in time for the composer's 80th birthday. Ólafsson's fascination with reinterpreting the Piano Etudesgrew as he toured and performed the works with Glass himself. "On the surface, they seem to be filled with repetitions. But the more one plays and thinks about them, the more their narratives seem to travel along in a spiral," he explains. "My approach to each of the etudes is to enable the listener to create his or her own personal space of reflection."

16 NEW  28 TOTAL
Classical 24, CBC, CLASSIC fM
Direct: SiriusXM, MOOD 
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco, Boston, Seattle, Cleveland, Houston, Minneapolis, Portland, Austin, Albuquerque, SC (Network)
INTER: Canada, UK
Online: AccuRadio, Sequenza 21, Second Inversion

Go to artist details