Choose artist...
Vienna Philharmonic

Summer Night Concert 2023 w/Yannick Nezet-Seguin

Sony Classical
Release Date: June 8, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


CES 2018 - Pro-ject 175th Anniversary Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra Turntable
1 Georges Bizet, Suite Nr. 1 aus der Oper Carmen / Nr. 5. Les Toréadors (Vorspiel zum 1. Akt)  
2 Nr. 2. Intermezzo (Vorspiel zum 3. Akt)  
3 Nr. 1a. Aragonaise (Vorspiel zum 4. Akt)  
4 Georges Bizet, Habanera aus der Oper Carmen  
5 Lili Boulanger, D‘un matin de printemps. Fassung für Orchester 1918  
6 Hector Berlioz, Ouvertüre zur Oper Le Corsaire op. 21  
7 Charles Gounod, „O ma lyre immortelle“ Arie aus der Oper Sapho  
8 Maurice Ravel, Daphnis et Cloé. Suite Nr. 2  
9 Camille Saint-Saëns, „Mon cœur s’ouvre à ta voix” Arie aus der Oper Samson et Dalila  
10 Maurice Ravel, Bolero  
Show all tracks

The Summer Night Concert was performed this year on June 8th, 2023. It is an annual open-air event, which has been held since 2008. The park of Schönbrunn Palace in Vienna/Austria is the magical setting for the concert. The illustrious conductors who have previously led the orchestra at this event are Georges Prêtre, Daniel Barenboim, Franz Welser-Möst, Lorin Maazel, Christoph Eschenbach, Zubin Mehta, Semyon Bychkov, Gustavo Dudamel , Daniel Harding and Andris Nelsons. 

Thanks to its UNESCO World Heritage setting in the Baroque park of Schönbrunn with the palace as a backdrop, the Summer Night Concert adds great visual charm to its superb musical quality. This event is classical music at its very best. Millions of viewers and listeners in more than 80 countries can follow the concert online, on TV and radio. This year, the Vienna Philharmonic devoted the concert to the works from French Romanticism to Impressionism. The event was presented for the first time by Maestro Yannick Nézet-Séguin and Mezzo-soprano Elina Garanca, who performed three arias from Georges Bizet's Carmen, Charles Gounod's Sapho and Camille Saint-Saëns' Samson et Dalila.  Also featured for the first time was a composition by Lili Boulanger - a moving depiction of nature by the young composer who became the first female winner of the prestigious Prix de Rome in 1913.  The Vienna Philharmonic dedicated the performance of this composition to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which was signed 75 years ago at the Vienna World Conference on Human Rights - thus emphasizing that a clear commitment to human rights is more important today than ever.

Go to artist details