Home » Artists » Stravinsky - Le Sacre, Debussy - La Mer

The New York Philharmonic, Jaap van Zweden: Bio

The New York Philharmonic connects with up to 50 million music lovers each season. In the 2017–18 season, during which Jaap van Zweden serves as Music Director Designate, the Orchestra celebrates its greatest strengths and essential commitments while looking to the future as an innovative, global ensemble, spotlighting its musicians and partners, dedication to new music, wide-ranging repertoire, education programs, and accessibility. The Philharmonic has commissioned and / or premiered works by leading composers since its founding in 1842, including Dvořák's New World Symphony and John Adams's Pulitzer Prize–winning On the Transmigration of Souls. The Philharmonic complements its annual free citywide Concerts in the Parks, Presented by Didi and Oscar Schafer, with Philharmonic Free Fridays and its famed Young People's Concerts. The oldest American symphony orchestra and one of the oldest in the world, the Philharmonic has made more than 2,000 recordings since 1917 and shares performances through Facebook Live. Jaap van Zweden, Music Director beginning in 2018–19, succeeds 20th-century musical giants including Bernstein, Toscanini, and Mahler.

Jaap van Zweden has become an international presence on three continents over the last decade. The 2017–18 season marks a major milestone as he completes his ten-year tenure as music director of the Dallas Symphony Orchestra and simultaneously serves as Music Director Designate of the New York Philharmonic, anticipating his inaugural season, in 2018–19, when he becomes the Orchestra's 26th Music Director. He continues as Music Director of the Hong Kong Philharmonic, a post he has held since 2012. Highlights of his 2017–18 season include return engagements to the New York Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Amsterdam's Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, and Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra. Maestro van Zweden is a regular guest conductor with the world's most prestigious ensembles, among them the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Cleveland Orchestra, Munich Philharmonic, Orchestre de Paris, Rotterdam Philharmonic, and Amsterdam's Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. In recent seasons, he made his debuts with the Berlin and Vienna Philharmonic orchestras. In the summers of 2017–19, he serves as principal conductor of the Gstaad Festival Orchestra and Gstaad Conducting Academy. His acclaimed recordings include Wagner's Tristan und Isolde and Parsifal, Britten's War Requiem, Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring and Petrushka, and the complete Beethoven, Brahms, and Bruckner symphonies. Currently, with the Hong Kong Philharmonic, he has embarked on a four-year project to conduct and record the complete Wagner Ring cycle for Naxos. Born in Amsterdam, Jaap van Zweden was the youngest-ever concertmaster of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. He began his conducting career in 1995 and in 2012 was named Musical America's Conductor of the Year. In 1997 he and his wife, Aaltje, established the Papageno Foundation. The Foundation supports families of children with autism.

The New York Philharmonic, Jaap van Zweden

Stravinsky - Le Sacre, Debussy - La Mer

Decca GOLD

Click Here For Artist Stories

1 Stravinsky: Le Sacre du printemps Part One: L'Adoration de la terre, Introduction  
2 Augures printaniers  
3 Jeu du rapt  
4 Rondes printanieres  
5 Jeux des cites rivales  
6 Cortege du Sage  
7 Adoration de la terre  
8 Danse de la terre  
9 Part Two: Le Sacrifice, Introduction  
10 Cercles mysterieux des adolescentes  
11 Glorification de L'?lue  
12 Evocation des ancetres  
13 Action rituelle des ancetres  
14 Danse sacrale  
15 Debussy: La Mer-Trois esquisses symphoniques / De l'aube a midi sur la mer  
16 Jeux de vagues  
17 Dialogue du vent et de la mer  
Jaap van Zweden named music director of the New York Philharmonic
Maestro Jaap van Zweden talks about Mahler Symphony no.9

The New York Philharmonic's third album with Decca Gold will be released physically and digitally on February 22, 2019. The album features performances by the New York Philharmonic of Stravinsky's Le Sacre du printemps and Debussy's La Mer from Jaap van Zweden's opening weeks (September-October 2018) as Music Director. It is now available for pre-order on nyphil.org and through this link.

Of the Opening Gala performance of Le Sacre du printempts, The New York Times wrote "Mr. van Zweden drew incisive, blazingly powerful and vehement playing from the Philharmonic." Two weeks later, The Times described the performance of La Mer as "bold, almost cinematic."