Choose artist...
The New York Philharmonic, Jaap van Zweden

David Lang - prisoner of the state

Decca GOLD

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio
Jaap van Zweden named music director of the New York Philharmonic
Maestro Jaap van Zweden talks about Mahler Symphony no.9
1 I was a woman  
2 prisoners! wake up!  
3 I stole a loaf of bread  
4 where is the boy?  
5 Gold  
6 there is one thing  
7 prison song  
8 entrance of the governor  
9 better to be feared  
10 o what desire  
11 uhhh. so dark  
12 how cold it is  
13 he?s moving  
14 return of the governor  
15 stand back  
16 what is one man?  
17 waiting for the inspectors  
Show all tracks

Called "a dark, seething and engrossing work" and "a high point of Mr. van Zweden's first season as music director" by The New York Times, the world premiere of David Lang's opera prisoner of the state concluded Music of Conscience, the New York Philharmonic's 2019 exploration of the ways in which composers have used music to respond to the social and political issues of their times. Continuing its partnership with the New York Philharmonic, Decca Gold releases the world premiere recording.


Go to artist details