Choose artist...
The Manhattan Transfer

the chick corea songbook

Release Date: September 29, 2009

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Manhattan Transfer - Spain (I Can Recall) - live@Wiener Konzerthaus
Manhattan Transfer - Medley 1976
1 Free Samba  
2 Prelude  
3 Spain  
4 One Step Closer  
5 Children's Song #15  
6 500 Miles High  
7 Another Roadside  
8 Times Lie  
9 La Chanson Du Bebe  
10 Ragtime In Pixiland  
11 The Story Of Anna & Armando  
12 Free Samba/End  
Show all tracks

GRAMMY- Award winning jazz/pop vocal group, MANHATTAN TRANSFER celebrate their 40th Anniversary with the highly anticipated release of THE CHICK COREA SONGBOOK, in stores September 29 via respected specialty label FOUR QUARTERS ENTERTAINMENT. THE CHICK COREA SONGBOOK, which marks the highly innovative vocal quartet's first new record in five years, was inspired by the classic work of jazz great CHICK COREA, and features fresh and exciting vocal interpretations of many of his popular compositions, including "Spain" and "500 Miles High." Corea, who plays on the CD, has also contributed an original composition entitled "Free Samba" specially for this album. The forthcoming release also features special guest appearances by some of the finest musicians in the industry including Christian McBride, Airto, Alex Acuna, Fred Hersch, Edsel Gomez and Lou Marini among others.
The platinum selling, world-wide chart topping super group, widely renowned for broadening the musical landscape with their innovative, genre defying sound, made GRAMMY history in 1981 by becoming the first group to win GRAMMYs simultaneously in both the jazz and pop categories. The group also put out the second most honored album in pop history in 1985 with Vocalese, earning an impressive 12 GRAMMY nominations, surpassed only by Michael Jackson's Thriller at the time. Produced by Tim Hauser, Vocalese become known as the group's tour de force effort, with Jon Hendricks, the recognized master of this art, composing all of the lyrics for the album. To date, MANHATTAN TRANSFER has won 10 GRAMMYs and has been nominated for 17 GRAMMYs. 

Go to artist details