Home » Artists » Never Stop

The Bad Plus: Bio

The Bad Plus came together at the end of the 20th century and has avoided easy categorization ever since, winning critical hosannas and a legion of fans worldwide with their creativity, unique sound and flair for live performance. The intensely collaborative trio has constantly searched for rules to break and boundaries to cross, bridging genres and techniques while exploring the infinite possibilities of three exceptional musicians working in perfect sync.

The band consists of founding members Reid Anderson (bass) and Dave King (drums) and new member Orrin Evans (piano) - a group of passionate collaborators with no single "leader." Never Stop II is the first full-length release from this lineup, comprised entirely of original music with each member contributing fresh compositions. The New York Times calls it "an exhilarating document" that sparks an exciting new chapter for the iconic group.

1 The Radio Tower Has A Beating Heart  
2 Never Stop  
3 You Are  
4 My Friend Metatron  
5 People Like You  
6 Beryl Loves To Dance  
7 Snowball  
8 2 Pm  
9 Bill Hickman At Home  
10 Super America  
The Bad Plus: You Are
The Bad Plus perform 'Never Stop'@at Dakota Jazz Club / Minneapolis
The Bad Plus: The Band That Never Stops

Entertainment One Music is excited to announce the release of The Bad Plus's new album, NEVER STOP, on September 14, 2010. It is the band's first album of all originals, and it's eighth release overall. Recorded in Minnesota, NEVER STOP does just what the title says. It's a rapid-fire succession of engaging performances by three musical explorers operating as highly skilled individuals -- bassist Reid Anderson, pianist Ethan Iverson and drummer David King -- and as a seamless unit at the same time. NEVER STOP is a strictly instrumental affair and, as a result, is a 180ý departure from the group's previous release, For All I Care, which featured alt-rock vocalist Wendy Lewis on covers of rock classics, along with re-imaginings of 20th Century classical compositions by Stravinsky, Ligeti and Babbitt.

17 New 'ON' this week: 200 Total
NPR/First Listen, PRI/Here & Now
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Boston, Philadelphia, Wash DC, Seattle, Minneapolis, Houston, Atlanta, Miami, Cleveland, Portland, St. Louis, Denver, Baltimore, Pittsburgh, Detroit, Kansas City, New Orleans, San Diego, Las Vegas, Austin, Orlando, Memphis, Berkeley, Milwaulee, Tucson, San Antonio, Albuquerque, Canada
Online: MOJA, Taintradio, RadioIO, WGOE, KUIW.org