Choose artist...
Stanislav Bunin

Schumann-Kinderszenen, Arabeske, Faschingsschwank

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: May 26, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Kinderszenen, Op. 15 / I. Von fremden Ländern  
2 II. Kuriose Geschichte  
3 III. Hasche-Mann  
4 IV. Bittendes Kind  
5 V. Glückes genug  
6 VI. Wichtige Begebenheit  
7 VII. Träumerei  
8 VIII. Am Kamin  
9 IX. Ritter vom Steckenpferd  
10 X. Fast zu ernst  
11 XI. Fürchtenmachen  
12 XII. Kind im Einschlummern  
13 XIII. Der Dichter spricht  
14 Faschingsschwank aus Wien: Phantasiebilder, Op. 26 / I. Allegro. Vivace assai  
15 II. Romanze. Piuttosto lento  
16 III. Scherzino  
17 IV. Intermezzo. Colla più grande energia  
18 IV. Finale. Il più vivace possibile  
19 Arabeske in C Major, Op. 18 / I. Leicht und Zart  
20 II. Minore I  
21 II. Minore II  
22 IV. Zum Schluss  
Show all tracks

In 1985, Stanislav Bunin, like Krystian Zimerman ten years earlier, won the International Chopin Competition in Warsaw at the age of 19. The competition was covered in a documentary that was widely broadcast in Japan, and it goes without saying that the winner created a craze in Japan. Bunin has chosen to remain out of the spotlight as an active concert pianist since the 90s, devoting the majority of his time and energy to teaching and passing on his techniques to future generations. Nonetheless, he has made a number of recordings for Deutsche Grammophon, including this one here with works by Robert Schumann, recorded in 1988 and now available for the first time in the digital supply chain.

Works include Schumann’s highly acclaimed Kinderszenen (Scenes from Childhood), Op. 15, Arabeske in C major, Op. 18 and his piano cycle Faschingsschwank aus Wien (Carnival Scenes from Vienna), Op. 26.

Go to artist details