Choose artist...
Sophie Shao

CanCan Macabre

Centaur Records
Release Date: February 16, 2024

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


The Layers: I. scavenger angels, by Herschel Garfein. Sophie Shao, John Blacklow
1 François Couperin: Pièces en Concert (arr. Paul Bazelaire) / Prélude 1:32  
2 Siciliène 2:07  
3 La Tromba 1:37  
4 Plainte 3:16  
5 Air de Diable 1:54  
6 Claude Debussy: Sonata for Cello and Piano in D Minor / Prologue 3:48  
7 Sérénade 3:25  
8 Finale 3:34  
9 Herschel Garfein: The Layers / scavenger angels 7:42  
10 when the moon was covered 5:06  
11 every stone on the road 7:44  
12 Thomas Adès: Lieux retrouvés / Les eaux 4:54  
13 La montagne 4:23  
14 Les champs 3:33  
15 La ville – cancan macabre 4:24  
16 Frédéric Chopin: Cello Sonata in G Minor, op. 65 / Largo 3:32  
Show all tracks

Cellist Sophie Shao, winner of the Avery Fisher Career Grant and top prizes at the Rostropovich and Tchaikovsky competitions, is a passionate artist whose performances the New York Times has described as “eloquent, powerful”, the LA Times noted as “impressive”, and the Washington Post called “deeply satisfying.” She has performed to critical acclaim throughout the United States, Asia and Europe as soloist and chamber musician. Shao’s recordings include the Complete Bach Suites, Andre Previn’s “Reflections”, and Howard Shore’s Mythic Gardens. She is on the faculty of University of Connecticut and plays on a cello by Honore Derazey ca. 1855 once owned by Pablo Casals. Shao has now released: 'CanCan Macabre' on Centaur Records. Joining the Cellist are pianists: Adrienne Kim & Ieva Jokubaviciute.

Pianist Adrienne Kim has made a number of recordings, including a recent recording of works by the composer Ilari Kaila with the Aizuri Quartet and flutist Isabel Lepanto Gleicher. Adrienne was a member of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center’s residency program. She is the pianist of the Alcott Trio and a founding member of the New York Chamber Music Co-Op. Adrienne is on the faculty of Mannes College. ‘An artist of commanding technique, refined temperament, and persuasive insight’ (NY Times), 

Lithuanian pianist Ieva Jokubaviciute performs regularly on stages and at festivals throughout the world. Her recordings have garnered critical acclaim in the US and Europe. She has also established herself as a mentoring artist at the Marlboro Music
Festival and Kneisel Hall Chamber Music Festival. A Borletti-Buitoni Fellowship recipient and a Naumburg International Competition winner, Ieva currently is Associate Professor of Piano at Duke University.


Go to artist details