Choose artist...
Simone Dinnerstein

Richard Danielpour - An American Mosaic

Supertrain Records
Release Date: March 26, 2021

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Philip Glass - Etude #6 @WQXR's 85th Anniversary concert.
Simone Dinnerstein: NPR Tiny Desk Concert
Simone Dinnerstein - An Honest Guide to Bach's Inventions: Bachpacking to School
Bach-Packing To School with Simone Dinnerstein (Woodburn Elementary)
Live from the WRTI 90.1 Performance Studio: Simone Dinnerstein plays Glass & Bach
Simone Dinnerstein ArtsRock Promo with Robin Quivers
1 I. Prologue (First Consolation)  
2 II. Caretakers and Research Physicians  
3 III. Parents and Children  
4 IV. Rabbis and Ministers  
5 V. Interlude (Second Consolation)  
6 VI. Journalists, Poets, and Writers  
7 VII. The Visible Enemy  
8 VIII. An Elegy for Our Time  
9 IX. The Invisible Enemy  
10 X. Interlude (Third Consolation)  
11 Documentary Filmmakers and Photographers  
12 Doctors and Interns  
13 Teachers and Students  
14 XIV. Prophets and Martyrs  
15 XV. Epilogue (Fourth Consolation)  
16 Three Bach Transcriptions - Chorale / 1  
17 2 / Aria.mp3  
18 3 / Epilogue.mp3  
Show all tracks

On March 26, 2021, approximately one year after the first COVID-19 pandemic shutdowns in the U.S., pianist Simone Dinnerstein's recording of An American Mosaic by composer Richard Danielpour will be released on Supertrain Records. An American Mosaic is a set of fifteen miniatures, each commemorating a segment of the American population that has been affected by the pandemic – doctors, parents, children, front line workers, caretakers, and those who have lost their lives to the virus. The album also includes transcriptions by Danielpour for Dinnerstein of J.S. Bach's "Agnus Dei" from the Mass in B minor, as well as "Wenn Ich einmal soll scheiden" and "Epilogue Chorus: Wir setzen, uns mit Tränen nieder," from the St. Matthew Passion.

An American Mosaic was commissioned by the Oregon Bach Festival and was premiered by Dinnerstein online on December 6, 2020 in a virtual concert for OBF from her home in Brooklyn. This album, produced and engineered by Grammy-winner Adam Abeshouse, is the recording of that performance.

An American Mosaic was born out of both Danielpour's anxiety and insomnia early in the pandemic, and his desire to write a piano work intended to give comfort to those suffering. "The only thing that was able to relax me enough to sleep (no amount of medication would do the trick) was listening to Simone Dinnerstein's Bach recordings," he said. In May, he contacted Dinnerstein about the piece he intended to write. Danielpour, from Los Angeles, and Dinnerstein, from New York, embarked on this collaboration in summer and fall 2020, and discussed, prepared, and rehearsed the piece entirely via email, phone, and Zoom.

"Last spring, out of the blue, I received a phone call from Richard Danielpour," Dinnerstein recalled. "He told me how my Bach recordings had helped him through those first difficult months of the pandemic. To know that my music had touched a fellow musician 3,000 miles away during that period of isolation was extremely meaningful to me. When Richard told me about his idea for An American Mosaic, I was honored and thrilled that he asked if he could share it with me. Spending the late summer and fall learning his language and digging deeply into the rich tapestry of this work was a transporting experience."

Go to artist details