Choose artist...
SIGNUM saxophone quartet


Deutsche Grammophon

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Beving: Ab Ovo (Arr. Knoth)
On the Nature of Daylight
1 Dowland: Lachrimae Antiquae 03:48  
2 Richter: On the Nature of Daylight 06:15  
3 Glass: String Quartet No. 3  
4 Faure: Requiem, Op. 48: IV. Pie Jesu 03:26  
5 Gregson: Recomposed Bach - Cello Suite No. 4 in E Flat Major, BWV 1010: 4.2 Allemande 02:47  
6 Beving: Ab Ovo 04:06  
7 Giazotto: Adagio in G Minor 05:37  
8 Hindemith: Trauermusik: IV. Choral 01:55  
9 Vasks: Songs of Love: IV. Then Time Stopped 03:09  
10 Lago: Ciudades: Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina)  
Show all tracks

An ensemble that attracts rave reviews and sell-out crowds at prestigious venues everywhere from Vienna to New York, the sensational SIGNUM saxophone quartet are now set to present their first Deutsche Grammophon album. Featuring inventive arrangements of music by composers from Dowland to Peter Gregson, as well as Guillermo Lago's "Sarajevo", a sax quartet original, Echoes is released as an e-album on 15 January 2021, its launch marked by a concert on DG Stage, streamed from the Berlin Meistersaal.

SIGNUM saxophone quartet's recording showcases the full potential of the saxophone – a modern instrument but one more than capable of capturing the echoes of the past. Two of its tracks, arrangements of works by the hugely successful contemporary composers Joep Beving and Max Richter, were pre-released as digital singles, complete with e-videos. "Ab Ovo" (arr. Knoth), from Beving's album Prehension, and Richter's "On the Nature of Daylight", from The Blue Notebooks, are out now.

Go to artist details