Choose artist...
Seven Octaves

The New Scene

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 1-2-3
2 What Now My Love
3 L-O-V-E
4 Who Can I Turn To
5 Call Me
6 With These Hands
7 Michelle
8 Sneakin Up On You
9 Everybody Loves Somebody
10 The Shadow of Your Smile
11 Dominiques Discoteque
12 I Should Have Kissed Him More
Show all tracks

Sarah Vaughan fully embraced the best pop music of her lengthy career, and her 1966 release "The New Scene" is ample evidence - buoyed with exuberant and thoughtful interpretation. It was this enthusiasm that inspired and fueled jazz pianist Kenny MacKenzie (aka Seven Octaves) to recreate the album instrumentally - with brand new and often exotic arrangements that borrow elements from 1950's space-age pop.

            This is the first time Kenny has merged his seemingly disparaged musical careers. As a pianist he has most often recorded his own compositions in trio or quartet format - striking a note with many radio stations; receiving generous airplay nationally and abroad with releases like "There You Are" & "Moved". As Seven Octaves in an entirely different milieu he scored several #1 slots across college radio in America with releases like "Simple Work" and "Encouragements"; the later in regular rotation on the nationally syndicated nighttime show "Undercurrents" for two years.

Go to artist details