Choose artist...
Sergei Babayan - Daniil Trifonov

Rachmaninoff for Two

Deutsche Grammophon
Release Date: March 29, 2024

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



1 Symphony No. 2 in E minor op. 27: Adagio 10:55  
2 Suite No. 2 for 2 Pianos / Introduction. Alla marcia 3:28  
3 Valse. Presto 5:48  
4 Romance. Andantino 7:10  
5 Tarantelle. Presto 5:22  
6 Suite No. 1 for 2 Pianos “Fantaisie (Tableaux)” op. 5 Barkarola · Barcarolle. Allegretto 8:32  
7 I noch, i lyubov · La nuit ... L’amour. Adagio sostenuto 5:59  
8 Slyozy · Les larmes. Largo di molto 5:15  
9 Svetly prazdnik · Pâques. Allegro maestoso 3:19  
10 Symphonic Dances op. 45: Version for 2 pianos / Non allegro – Lento – Tempo I 11:13  
11 Andante con moto (Tempo di valse) 7:49  
12 Lento assai – Allegro vivace – Lento assai – Allegro vivace 11:06  
Show all tracks

Daniil Trifonov and his friend and mentor, Sergei Babayan, present their first full album of piano duets. Rachmaninoff for Two contains performances of the Russian composer’s two Suites for two pianos and the two-piano version of his Symphonic Dances, together with Trifonov’s own transcription of the Adagio from Symphony No. 2. Set for release by Deutsche Grammophon digitally and on 2 CDs on 29 March 2024, the album pays tribute to one of the world’s most beloved pianist-composers, as part of this year’s Rachmaninoff 150 celebrations.

The duo recorded Rachmaninoff for Two at the Vienna Konzerthaus soon after performing there in May 2023 as part of their acclaimed series of Rachmaninoff concerts across Europe. Austria’s Die Presse described their Vienna concert as a “keyboard virtuosos’ festival”, and the Wiener Zeitung hailed the “ravishing kaleidoscope of emotions and colours” achieved in the Symphonic Dances, while another reviewer, writing about their performance in Brussels, called Babayan and Trifonov “worthy heirs” to Rachmaninoff’s “human complexity” and noted their “incredible symbiotic capacity” (

Discussing their chosen repertoire for the tour and album, Sergei Babayan acknowledges Rachmaninoff as a genius of the highest calibre, both as a composer and as a pianist who appeared to be blessed with four hands. “When he writes for two players at two pianos, we mortals have the chance to experience how he played on just one piano,” he observes. 

Go to artist details