Choose artist...
Ryuichi Sakamoto

Travesia - currated by INARRITU

Milan Records - Sony Masterworks
Release Date: May 5, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Ryuichi Sakamoto: A Celebration
1 Thousand Knives  
2 The Revenant Main Theme (Alva Noto Remodel)  
3 Before Long  
4 Nuages  
6 Ma Mère L’Oye  
7 Rose  
8 Tokyo Story  
9 Break With  
10 Blu  
11 Asadoya Yunta  
12 Rio  
13 Reversing  
14 thatness and thereness  
15 Ngo/bitmix  
16 +Pantonal  
17 Laménto  
18 Diabaram  
19 Same Dream, Same Destination  
20 Composition 0919  
Show all tracks

Milan Records today releases TRAVESÍA, an album of music by the late composer RYUICHI SAKAMOTO curated by award-winning filmmaker ALEJANDRO G. IÑÁRRITU. Available now both digitally and in vinyl format, Travesía features selections from Sakamoto’s prolific catalogue handpicked by Iñárritu, who famously collaborated with the composer on his Oscar-winning film The Revenant. Originally conceived as a surprise project celebrating Sakamoto’s 70th birthday, the album is the result of nearly two years of planning and six months of meticulous curation by Iñárritu. Now arriving in the wake of the iconic musician’s passing, Travesía, meaning “journey” in Spanish, takes listeners on a one-of-a-kind trip through the last four decades of Sakamoto’s musicmaking career, showcasing his immeasurable influence and lasting legacy – listen here.

Of the project, ALEJANDRO GONZÁLEZ IÑÁRRITU says: When Jean Christophe Chamboredon from Milan Records, and Norika Sora, Ryuichi’s manager, invited me to this project, my first instinct was to resist. Sakamoto’s musical universe is so vast that the responsibility to honor him by choosing only 20 stars from his complex galaxy would be practically impossible. But after finding out that they were planning this as a surprise present for him, I had no other choice but to accept the challenge.

Go to artist details