Choose artist...
Ryuichi Sakamoto

Exception - From The Netflix Anime Series

Milan Records - Sony Masterworks
Release Date: October 14, 2022

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Ryuichi Sakamoto: A Celebration
1 Opening  
2 beginning  
3 body test  
4 solar flare  
5 atmospheric transformer  
6 the monster  
7 a message to self  
8 monster cry  
9 funeral  
10 searching  
11 food storage  
12 alarm  
13 a painful memory  
14 seage treatment  
15 playing god  
16 collusion  
17 inside area d  
18 butterfly  
19 atmosphere transformer plant  
20 hidden on the ship  
21 what it is all for  
22 x10 land drones  
23 pride  
24 suicidal  
25 toward the steps  
26 orientation  
27 searching in Area D  
28 counterattack  
29 being locked  
30 occupying  
31 detaching  
32 revelation  
33 bio authentication  
34 hostage  
35 justification  
36 betrayal  
37 operating the drone  
38 unlock  
39 hangar  
40 breaking apart  
41 reuntion  
42 falling  
43 pod  
44 losing oxygen  
45 alone on x10  
46 ship launches  
47 existence interference  
48 captured  
49 to beanpod  
50 fight  
51 re-printing  
52 oxygen  
53 rebith  
54 Ending  
Show all tracks

Milan Records today announces EXCEPTION (SOUNDTRACK FROM THE NETFLIX ANIME SERIES), an album of original music by RYUICHI SAKAMOTO for Netflix’s upcoming sci-fi horror anime, and shares two tracks ahead of the soundtrack’s release on October 14. Available everywhere now is the series’ opening theme, “Opening for ‘Exception,’” an otherworldly orchestral piece featuring sweeping strings layered with piano and ethereal synths – LISTEN HERE. Featured in today’s newly-released series trailer, “Opening for ‘Exception’” debuts alongside a second track from the album entitled “oxygen,” an extended reprisal of the opening theme – LISTEN HERE. With an original story by Hirotaka Adachi (Otsuichi) and character designs by Final Fantasy’s Yoshitaka Amano, Exception debuts exclusively on Netflix on October 13, 2022.

Of the album, composer RYUICHI SAKAMOTO says, “I wanted to make the main theme a symphonic piece—the kind that has become a staple in science fiction since Star Wars. As for the soundtrack as a whole, I worked towards keeping it darkly ambient, wanting it to feel like one piece of music rather than separated by scene. That said, I did include a degree of harsh sounds in the fighting scenes. Overall, I was able to make a soundtrack I like very much.”  

Go to artist details