Home » Artists » Introducing

Robin McKelle: Bio

A savvy songwriter and a powerhouse vocalist, McKelle has long found a home where soul, jazz,pop, gospel, blues and the American Songbook cross paths. In her live performances, she exudes a bandleader's moxie that recalls the Rat Pack era.  While comparisons to Ella Fitzgerald are common because of her warm alto voice, her early influences were mostly Aretha Franklin, Tina Turner and Janis Joplin.  McKelle's voice mirrors the power of those three vocal titans while maintaining the refined nuances of Fitzgerald.  In her early days, McKelle shared the stage with such prestigious artists as Michael McDonald and Bobby McFerrin.

McKelle's seminal album Introducing Robin McKelle featuring the vocalist performing a list of standards of the jazz repertoire afront a big band, was released in 2006.  This release was followed by 2008's big band release Modern Antique.  2010's Mess Around featured McKelle with a paired down ensemble and a repertoire running the gamut from jazz to soul to pop. 

Soul Flower, Merry Christmas Vol. 1 and Heart of Memphis featured McKelle's hard-partying ensemble The Flytones Led by bassist and co-producer Derek Nievergelt.  On these releases, McKelle amps the grit to 11, displaying her versatility on a wide array of material.  2016's The Looking Glass was McKelle's first album of all original material.  McKelle's Melodic Canvas saw a turning point for the vocalist.  "Tackling tough subject matter including politics, faith and more, McKelle's Melodic Canvas offers listeners a timely social commentary with a rich, soulful sound. Blending elements of blues, jazz, gospel and soul, the album is an inspired work of pure, aural bliss" (Eponymous Review)

There's an insightful storyteller's voice that connects her songs, a narrative thread that feels smart and soulful. In her songwriting and in the arrangements/production of the album, she mixes her varied influences together with strength and grace.

1 Something's Gotta Give  
2 Bei Mir Bist Du Schon  
3 Night and Day  
4 For All We Know  
5 You Brought A New Kind Of Love  
6 Dream  
7 Yes, My Darling Daughter  
8 Deep In A Dream  
9 I've Got the World On A String  
10 Come Rain Or Come Shine  
11 The Lamp Is Low  
12 On the Sunny Side Of the Street  
Robin McKelle & Orchestra: The Lamp is Low
Robin McKelle Live Session for Jazz FM
Robin McKelle & the Flytones - Stax Soul Session - 1
Robin McKelle - Lyla

Having worked with Herbie Hancock, Terence Blanchard, Michael McDonald, Wayne Shorter, Jon Secada & others, Robin McKelle now releases her debut album that broadens the boundaries of retro-swing. Introducing Robin McKelle evokes the spirit of 1940's America, while retaining an edge that speaks of a new time. With its balance of swing and balladry, the album heralds the arrival of a peerless interpretive artist.

1 New "ON" this week: 148 Total
NPR: Morning Edition, Bob Parlocha's Jazz Sat Network, The Bill Miller Show, Anything Goes
Markets include: Los Angeles, Boston, Wash DC, Seattle(ADI), Houston, Pittsburgh, Minneapolis, Atlanta, Miami, Detroit, Cleveland, Denver, St. Louis, Baltimore, San Diego, Portland(ADI), Long Island(NYC:ADI), Las Vegas, Salt Lake, Louisville, Buffalo, Rochester, Raleigh NC, Australia, The Netherlands