Home » Projects » Overtures, Preludes & Intermezzi
Riccardo Chailly | Filarmonica Della Scala

Overtures, Preludes & Intermezzi

Decca Classics

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio




Filarmonica della Scala - Winter Tour 2018
The history of the Filarmonica della Scala
1 Verdi: Il finto Stanislao - Overture  
2 Verdi: I Lombardi alla prima crociata - Prelude to the Trio  
3 Catalani: La Wally - Introduction to Act III  
4 Rossini: La pietra del paragone - Overture  
5 Donizetti: Ugo, conte di Parigi - Overture  
6 Bellini: Norma - Overture  
7 Giordano: Siberia - Prelude to Act II  
8 Puccini: Madame Butterfly - Intermezzo  
9 Puccini: Edgar - Prelude to Act IV  
10 Ponchielli: La Gioconda - Dance of the Hours  
11 Leoncavallo: Pagliacci - Intermezzo  
12 Leoncavallo: I Medici - Prelude to Act I  
13 Leoncavallo: I Medici - Prelude to Act III  
14 Boito: Mefistofele - Prelude to the Prologue  
Show all tracks

After almost 40 years on Decca, Riccardo Chailly begins a new series of recordings as Music Director of Teatro alla Scala in Milan – the world's most iconic opera house. He will release a new album of Overtures, Preludes and Intermezzi with the Filarmonica Della Scala on March 10, and a new DVD of Puccini's Turandot on January 27. Chailly, the world's longest-standing exclusive conductor recording today, celebrates three centuries of music first performed at La Scala in a sonically spectacular album including the overtures to Bellini's Norma, Rossini's La pietra del paragone and Verdi's Il finto Stanislao. The album also features the Intermezzo from Puccini's Madama Butterfly and "Dance of the Hours" from Ponchielli's La Gioconda.

11 NEW  40 TOTAL
Classical 24, CBC
Direct: MOOD
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco, Boston, Wash DC, Cleveland, Dallas, Houston, Portland, Cincinnati, Detroit, Minneapolis, New Orleans, Pittsburgh, IA(Statewide), KS(Statewide), Honolulu
Online: AccuRadio

Go to artist details