Choose artist...
Rachel Willis-Sorensen

Strauss - Four Last Songs

Sony Classical
Release Date: March 10, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Rachel Willis-Sørensen • Walk‘n Talk
1 Four Last Songs / Vier letzte Lieder TrV 296 / No. 1: Frühling (3:28)  
2 No. 2: September (4:59)  
3 No. 3: Beim Schlafengehen (5:44)  
4 No. 4: Im Abendrot (8:08)  
5 Final Scene from Capriccio TrV 179 / Mondscheinmusik. Andante con moto (3:36)  
6 Moonlight Interlude / “Wo ist mein Bruder?” (countess, major-domo) (2:51)  
7 “Kein Andres, das mir so im Herzen loht” (countess) (4:36)  
8 “Ihre Liebe schlägt mir entgegen” (countess) (4:53)  
9 “Du Spiegelbild der verliebten Madeleine” (countess) (7:11)  
Show all tracks

Sony Classical International proudly announces the second solo album by American soprano Rachel Willis-Sørensen, to be released on March 10. Presenting works of Richard Strauss’s later years, Willis-Sørensen’s latest release pairs the composer’s sublime Vier letzte Lieder (Four Last Songs) with the closing scene of his final opera, Capriccio. Renowned conductor Andris Nelsons leads the Gewandhausorchester and German bass Sebastian Pilgrim joins Willis-Sørensen for the Capriccio scene.

The first single “Frühling,” the opening track of the Four Last Songs is out today – Listen here.  Setting poet Hermann Hesse’s rapturous vision of spring, this matchlessly soaring music will provide listeners with an ideal introduction to Willis-Sørensen’s undisputable affinity for Strauss.

Go to artist details