Home » Artists » Recomposed

Peter Gregson: Bio

Peter Gregson is a cellist and composer "working at the forefront of the new music scene" (The New Yorker). He has premiered works by composers including Max Richter, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Joby Talbot, Gabriel Prokofiev, and Steve Reich; he also collaborates with many leading film composers, including Lorne Balfe, Alex Heffes, Michael Price, as well as many others. His score for Alan Rickman's 'A Little Chaos' was nominated for the Public Choice Award at the 2015 World Soundtrack Awards, and was Vanity Fair's score of the year.

1 Bach: Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007 - Prelude  
2 Allemande  
3 Courante  
4 Sarabande  
5 Menuetts  
6 Gigue  
7 Bach: Cello Suite No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1008 - Prelude  
8 Allemande  
9 Courante  
10 Sarabande  
11 Menuetts  
12 Gigue  
13 Bach: Cello Suite No. 3 in C Major, BWV 1009 - Prelude  
14 Allemande  
15 Courante  
16 Sarabande  
17 Bourrees  
18 Gigue  
19 Bach: Cello Suite No. 4 in E-Flat Major, BWV 1010 - Prelude  
20 Allemande  
21 Courante  
22 Sarabande  
23 Bourrees  
24 Gigue  
25 Bach: Cello Suite No. 5 in C Minor, BWV 1011 - Prelude  
26 Allemande  
27 Courante  
28 Sarabande  
29 Gavottes  
30 Gigue  
31 Bach: Cello Suite No. 6 in D Major, BWV 1012 - Prelude  
32 Allemande  
33 Courante  
34 Sarabande  
35 Gavottes  
36 Gigue  
Recomposed by Peter Gregson: Bach ? The Cello Suites (Teaser)

Cellist and composer Peter Gregson is a man obsessed with sonic frontiers: "The job of the musician is to create stuff that's relevant to his time," he says. "You can get it wrong if all you do is stubbornly stick to your guns. I want to be able to adapt to changing landscapes." In Bach Recomposed, Gregson translates a landmark of the cello repertoire into his own unique musical language. The album is the latest addition to DG's lauded series that includes Max Richter's Vivaldi Recomposed.

Crossover Media Projects with: Peter Gregson