Choose artist...
Parker Quartet, Kim Kashkashian

Kurtag_Moments Musicaux, Officium & Dvorak_SQ op97

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Dvorák's String Quintet, Op. 97
1 György Kurtág - Six Moments musicaux Op. 44 / I. Invocatio (Un Fragment)  
2 II. Footfalls ...Mintha Valaki Jönne  
3 III. Capriccio  
4 IV. In Memoriam Sebök György  
5 V. Rappel Des Oiseaux (Étude Pour Les Harmoniques)  
6 VI. Les Adieux (In Janácek's Manier)  
7 Antonin Dvorák - String Quintet No. 3 in E-flat major Op. 97 / I. Allegro Non Tanto  
8 II. Scherzo. Allegro Vivace  
9 III. Larghetto  
10 IV. Finale. Allegro Giusto  
11 György Kurtág - Officium Breve In Memoriam Andreae Szervánszky, Op. 28 / Largo  
12 II. Più Andante  
13 III. Sostenuto. Quasi Giusto  
14 IV. Grave. Molto Sostenuto  
15 V. (Fantasie Über Die Harmonien Des Webern-Kanons) Presto  
16 VI. (Canon A 4) Molto Agitato  
17 VII. Canon a 2 (frei nach, Op. 31/VI von Webern) Sehr fliessend  
18 VIII. Lento  
19 IX. Largo  
20 X. (Webern: Kanon a 4 (Op. 31/VI)) Sehr fliessend  
21 XI. Sostenuto  
22 XII. Sostenuto. quasi giusto  
23 XIII. Sostenuto. con slancio  
24 XIV. Disperato. Vivo  
25 XV. Arioso Interrotto (Di Endre Szervánszky). Larghetto  
Show all tracks

At first glance, the pairing of the two composers chosen by the Parker Quartet and violist Kim Kashkashian for their recording on ECM New Series may appear unusual. However, György Kurtág and Antonín Dvorák have more in common than a fleeting glimpse at their oeuvre – an extremely narrow, concentrated catalogue of works in the one case and a multifaceted life's work that lavishly encompasses all musical genres in the other – would suggest.

For the present recording, their first for ECM, the Parker Quartet combines the Six moments musicaux op. 44 and the Officium breve op. 28 – Kurtág's String Quartets Nos. 3 and 4, if you will – with Dvorák's String Quintet No. 3 in E-flat Major op. 97, for which Kim Kashkashian has taken over the second viola part.  And here, within the musical facture, the compositional means, in the sound complexion, the paths of these two composers, who represent two musical eras, diverge. 

Go to artist details