Home » Artists » Brubeck & American Poets

Pacific Mozart Ensemble: Bio

Founded in 1980 by Artistic Director Richard Grant, the Pacific Mozart Ensemble (PME) delivers passionate, expert and engaging choral performances of music from Brahms to Brubeck to the Beach Boys. During its time, PME has grown to fill an important role in the cultural life of the San Francisco Bay Area, presenting courageous and innovative programs of many works that have never been performed in concert settings. In 2005, the group's 25th anniversary season, PME named Dr. Lynne Morrow, one of the Bay Area's leading musical figures, as the group's Music Director.

PME is perhaps best known for its collaborations with contemporary composers and artists, including John Adams, Dave Brubeck, David Lang, Meredith Monk, The American Bach Soloists, Berkeley Symphony Orchestra, The Oakland East Bay Symphony, and many others. PME was nominated for a "Best Choral Performance" Grammy Award in 2006 for the Harmonia Mundi recording of Bernstein's Mass with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester under the direction
of Kent Nagano.
1 Autumn in Our Town  
2 Once When I Was Very Young  
3 Two Churches  
4 How Does Your Garden Grow?  
5 Lonesome  
6 Summer Song  
7 Regret  
8 Quiet as the Moon  
9 Dreamer  
10 Heaven/Boogie 1AM  
11 Dusk  
12 I Dream a World: Chorale  
13 Festival Hall  
14 I Have a Little Shadow  
15 The Wheel  
16 In Time of Silver Rain  
17 The Peace of Wild Things  
18 The Wind  
19 Truth  
Omid Zoufonoun: Shoor-e Mastaan (Passion of the Intoxicated) - Pacific Mozart Ensemble

Sono Luminus is proud to offer a magnificent collection of works from the hands of Dave Brubeck, brought to life in this debut recording from the Pacific Mozart Ensemble, Brubeck & American Poets, under the baton of conductor Lynne Morrow. Dave Brubeck, revered as a jazz pianist, is a composer of a rich stream of choral music. The music is varied, with many of the songs evoking the feeling of specific places and emotions. The music can be enjoyed by all; some of it is complex, some youthful and easily accessible. A perusal of Brubeck's choral catalog shows that most of his lyricists are beloved American poets, including Langston Hughes and Wendell Berry. This disc gives musical form to Brubeck's love of American poets. His thoughts about the poets and the composition of these works are included in the booklet.

36 New 'ON' this week: 94 Total
Classical 24
Direct: SiriusXM, Music Choice
Markets include: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Boston, San Francisco, Philadelphia, Atlanta, Minneapolis, Cleveland, Baltimore, Pittsburgh, Detroit, Denver, New Orleans, Berkeley CA, Louisville KY, San Antonio, Buffalo, Honolulu
Online: Taintradio, RadioIO

Crossover Media Projects with: Pacific Mozart Ensemble