Choose artist...
Pablo Sainz-Villegas

The Blue Album

Sony Classical
Release Date: June 9, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Erik Satie - Gymnopédie No. 1  
2 François Couperin - Les Barricades Mystérieuses  
3 Philip Glass - Orphée’s Bedroom  
4 Leo Brouwer - Canción De Cuna (Berceuse)  
5 Claude Debussy - Clair De Lune  
6 Sylvius Leopold Weiss - Passacaille  
7 Erik Satie - Gnossienne No. 1  
8 Domenico Scarlatti - Keyboard Sonata In D Minor  
9 Fernando Sor - Etude In E Minor  
10 Max Richter - A Catalogue Of Afternoons  
11 Claude Debussy - La Fille Aux Cheveux De Lin  
12 Sebastián Iradier - La Paloma  
13 Stanley Myers - Cavatina  
14 Ryuichi Sakamoto - Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence  
Show all tracks

“Blue stands for a particularly intimate mood,” says renowned Spanish guitarist Pablo Sainz-Villegas. And correspondingly his latest album is titled The Blue Album, which will be released by Sony Classical on 9 June 2023. “Blue symbolizes a mysterious intermediary realm: one thinks of the moment when the sun rises and night slowly withdraws,” Pablo Sainz-Villegas goes on to explain. These are exceptional moments, moments between silence and waking, between heaven and earth, between light and darkness. These are also the moments that spirit us away from the hectic routine of our everyday lives and that create an atmosphere of reverie and relaxation, allowing us time to slow down. All of this is reflected in Pablo Sainz-Villegas’s new programme.

Few composers have captured this mood so unmistakably in their music as the French composer Erik Satie, who is represented here by selections from his Gymnopédies and Gnossiennes. Debussy’s “Clair de lune” and “La fille aux cheveux de lin” are almost magical in their expressiveness: this is music that is filled with calm and with the power to enchant.

According to Pablo Sainz-Villegas, “this album brings together some of the most beautiful and most heartfelt melodies that have ever been written. All these pieces create a magical atmosphere, their colours create a mood, a mystery. The guitar whispers an invitation to the listener to explore and go to the most intimate part of your soul. It creates a moment to look inside and have a conversation with the essence of yourself. “

Go to artist details