Choose artist...
Pablo Aslan


Soundbrush Records

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


Contrabass Conversations
1 Villa-Lobos: Preludio #1
2 Cuadrado: Confluencias
3 Cuadrado: Reflejos
4 Aslan: Tanguajira
5 Davidson: Te Extrano Buenos Aires
6 Ellington: Come Sunday
7 Davidson: Tango Para Cuerdas
8 Senanes: Contratango
9 Senanes: Riendo Suelto
10 Rodriguez: La Cumparsita
Show all tracks

At the suggestion of bandoneonist, arranger, and composer Raúl Jaurena, I set out to create a body of work for bass and string quartet, in order to feature the bass not only as foundation and a melodic instrument, but as a driver of rhythm. As I was mulling over the idea, I got an invitation from Cho-Liang Lin, Artistic Director of the La Jolla Music Festival, to play a concert with Paquito D'Rivera and the Escher String Quartet in 2016. In turn, Pac-man, as he calls himself, invited me to bring some repertoire to the musical shindig, and thus the album was off to a start. I enlisted my teacher and friend Gabriel Senanes, who lives in Buenos Aires, to write and arrange several pieces. This led naturally to inviting him to be the Artistic Producer. He contributed two mini-concerti that sent me to the practice shed for months and forced me to up my game, a common thread throughout the making of this album.

Go to artist details