Choose artist...
Nicholas Ho


Release Date: March 17, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Robert Schumann: Fantasie in C major, Op. 17 / I. Durchaus fantastisch 13:32  
2 II. Mäßig. Durchaus energisch 7:41  
3 III. Langsam getragen. Durchweg leise zu halten 10:53  
4 Nicholas Ho: Piano Sonata, Op. 8 / I. Ballade. Adagio drammatico 9:30  
5 II. Toccata-Fantasy. Energico – Amoroso 5:13  
6 Samuel Barber: Piano Sonata, Op. 26 / I. Allegro energico 7:48  
7 II. Allegro vivace e leggero 2:03  
8 III. Adagio mesto 5:14  
9 IV. Fuga: Allegro con spirito 4:47  
Show all tracks

Nicholas Ho plays Schumann, Ho, and Barber  on INTERPLAY. The album includes: Robert Schumann (1810-1856) Fantasie in C major, Op. 17……Schumann’s Fantasie in C major, Op. 17 is one of the pillars of romantic piano repertoire. Written during a particularly lengthy separation away from his beloved Clara Wieck when their future together was uncertain, the Fantasie is an open love letter to Clara.

Nicholas Ho (b. 1992) Piano Sonata, Op. 8……Conceived during my self-quarantine upon returning to Singapore from Cincinnati in March 2020 during the initial crisis of the COVID-19 pandemic, this Sonata holds a special place in my heart.

Samuel Barber (1910-1981) Piano Sonata, Op. 26…….Ho was first exposed to this sonata from Vladimir Horowitz’s iconic recording. A technically and musically demanding work, I was almost too afraid to approach it for years. However, the work grew on me as time went by, and I discovered a work awesomely rich in emotional depth.


Go to artist details