Choose artist...
Mike Post

Message from the Mountains / Echoes of the Delta

Sony Masterworks
Release Date: February 16, 2024

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Echoes of the Delta I. John the Revelator  
2 Echoes of the Delta II. River Walkin  
3 Echoes of the Delta III. Just Before Dawn  
4 Echoes of the Delta IV. Highway 41  
5 Echoes of the Delta IX. Riffs Round the Sun  
6 Echoes of the Delta V. Little Zion  
7 Echoes of the Delta VI. The Gate to Greenwood  
8 Echoes of the Delta VII. Crossed Road  
9 Echoes of the Delta VIII. Riley Smiles  
10 Echoes of the Delta X. Sunday With Maudes  
11 Echoes of the Delta XI. Boogie Offspring  
12 Echoes of the Delta XII. Backside Middle  
13 Echoes of the Delta XIII. Sunny in the Second Line  
14 Echoes of the Delta XIV. Light the Dark Sky  
15 Echoes of the Delta XV. The Call  
16 Echoes of the Delta XVI. Circle Back Home  
17 Message from the Mountains I. Journeys - The Message  
18 Message from the Mountains II. Onward  
19 Message from the Mountains III. Sunrise Special  
20 Message from the Mountains IV. Redemption Valley  
21 Message from the Mountains IX. Destined to Dream  
22 Message from the Mountains V. Campfire Breakdown - Night Sky  
23 Message from the Mountains VI. Fort Smith Waltz  
24 Message from the Mountains VII. Strings Afire  
25 Message from the Mountains VIII. Spirit of the Owl  
Show all tracks

He transformed and redefined the sound of music in TV and films over a half-century, and now the Emmy®- and Grammy®-winning American composer and musical man-for-all-seasons Mike Post has realized his own creative challenge in Message from the Mountains / Echoes of the Delta, a unique new recording from Sony Masterworks. 

The album features a pair of original works by Post that combine the pure sounds of bluegrass (Message from the Mountains) and the blues (Echoes of the Delta) – joined by “dream teams” of soloists who are longtime friends and colleagues – with the expressive power and range of a full orchestra. Post’s musical signatures for The Rockford FilesThe A-TeamMagnum P.I.NYPD BlueL.A. LawHill Street Blues and other TV classics – not to mention the Law & Order family of dramas (including the landmark, two-note “stinger” effect he created) – are in the DNA of contemporary television culture.

In nine multifaceted movements, Message from the Mountains uses the sounds of bluegrass to celebrate the mingling of tradition and diverse cultural experience in American music. Collaborators in realizing the work are the soloists – Herb Pedersen (5-string banjo); Gabe Witcher (fiddle); Mike Witcher (dobro); Patrick Sauber (acoustic guitar/mandolin); and Amy Keys (orator). Echoes from the Delta reflects and explores the exuberant joy and the well of anguish that forged the blues in 14 short, expressive movements. Joining Post and the orchestra as soloists are Sonny Landreth (slide guitar); Eric Gales (electric guitar); Abe Laboriel Sr. (bass); Abe Laboriel Jr. (drums); Robert Turner (organ/piano); Jon O’Hara (keyboards); and Amy Keys (vocalist).

Go to artist details