Choose artist...
Michael Shapiro

Michael's Songbook with Ariadne Greif

Paumanok Records

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


INTERPLAY - Leonard Slatkin
INTERPLAY - JoAnn Falletta
INTERPLAY - Jerry Junkin
INTERPLAY - Elliott Forrest
1 DUBLIN SONGS (poems by James Joyce) / Song from A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man  
2 Strings in the Earth and Air  
3 O Cool is the Valley Now  
4 Because your Voice was at my Side  
5 A Lover's Tale  
6 In the Dark Pine-Wood  
7 Lightly Come or Lightly Go  
8 Love Came to Us in Time Gone By  
9 O, It was Out by Donnycarney  
10 Rain has fallen all the day  
11 Sleep Now, O Sleep Now  
12 All Day I Hear the Noise of Waters  
13 CANCIONES (poetry by Federico Garcia Lorca) / Farewell  
14 The Spinster at Mass  
15 It is True  
16 Silly Song  
17 Rider's Song  
Show all tracks

My song cycles Dublin Songs and Canciones,were written during my twenties and reflect my fascination with the poetry of James Joyce and Federico Garcia Lorca. In particular, I love the freedom of Joyce's lyricism and the visionary color and rhythm of Lorca. They are very much my heroes in their choice of words and subject matter. It is a long way from Dublin to Barcelona, but perhaps closer than one might imagine.??My way is to follow where the poems go and fill in with musical sounds the imagery and imagining of the poesy, remembering at all times the careful and caring depiction of humanity by these two great souls.

Go to artist details