Choose artist...
Max Richter

Voyager - Essential Max Richter

Deutsche Grammophon

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



FACT: From Studio To Screen: Becoming A Composer
Insight Germany
1 On the Nature of Daylight from The Blue Notebooks  
2 A Catalogue of Afternoons from The Blue Notebooks  
3 Spring 0 from Recomposed By Max Richter: Vivaldi, The Four Seasons  
4 Spring 1 from Recomposed By Max Richter: Vivaldi, The Four Seasons  
5 Autumn Music 2 from Songs From Before  
6 VI. Orlando: Modular Astronomy from Three Worlds: Music From Woolf Works  
7 Vladimir´s Blues from The Blue Notebooks  
8 November from Memoryhouse  
9 Dream 3 - in the midst of my life from Sleep  
10 Hope Strings Eternal from 24 Postcards in Full Colour  
11 Iconography from The Blue Notebooks  
12 Circles From the Rue Simon – Crubellier from 24 Postcards in Full Colour  
13 Infra 8  
14 III. Mrs Dalloway: War Anthem from Three Worlds: Music From Woolf Works  
15 Lullaby From The Westcoast Sleepers  
16 Sunlight from Songs From Before  
17 In The Garden - Spotify Singles  
18 Broken Symmetries For Y  
19 Mercy – Live  
20 Solo Tracks from Sleep  
21 Beginning and Ending from The Congress  
22 The Departure from The Leftovers: Season 1  
23 The Inexorable Advance Of Mr. Delaney  
24 The Young Mariner (The Young Mariner)  
25 Trigger from White Boy Rick  
26 Elena & Lila from My Brilliant Friend  
27 A Blessing from The Leftovers: Season 1  
28 Ride To Marathon Station from White Boy Rick  
29 Lamentation For A Lost Life from Taboo  
30 The Mind´s Eye from Never Look Away  
31 Where We Belong from Hostiles  
32 A New Generation from Mary Queen Of Scots  
33 On Reflection from Black Mirror – Nosedive  
34 Wheels Within Wheels from Miss Sloane  
35 Your Reflection from My Brilliant Friend  
36 And Know The Place for The First Time from The Leftovers: Season 3  
37 A Woman Alone from Hostiles  
38 Our Reflection from My Brilliant Friend  
39 Wershe & Son from White Boy Rick  
40 Miss Sloane Solo from Miss Sloane  
41 The Departure from The Leftovers: Season 1  
42 I Will Not Forget You from Testament of Youth  
Show all tracks

Deutsche Grammophon will release VOYAGER: ESSENTIAL MAX RICHTER, the first ever collection of the acclaimed British composer’s work. The 33-track collection will be available as a double CD and e-album and contains work from across his vast catalogue, including studio albums such as 2004’s acclaimed The Blue Notebooks,  Richter; reviewed by Pitchfork as one of the most affecting and universal contemporary classical records in recent memory’, 2012’s Recomposed by Max Richter: Vivaldi - The Four Seasons, performed by award-winning British violinist Daniel Hope and Berlin’s renowned Konzerthaus Kammerorchester; and 2015’s ground-breaking, eight-and-a-half-hour magnum opus, Sleep. Two previously unreleased bonus tracks from Sleep are also included in this release.

Additionally, the anthology offers a selection from Richter’s numerous film and TV scores, among them 2014’s The Leftovers, which garnered the International Film Music Critics Award for Best Original Score For A Television Series; 2017’s Taboo, awarded an Emmy for Outstanding Music Composition For A Series; and last year’s Mary Queen Of Scots, which earned him the Hollywood Music in Media Award for Best Original Score - Feature Film.

VOYAGER contains music from 2010’s Infra, which originated as the celebrated score for Wayne McGregor’s ballet of the same name, performed at London’s Royal Opera House, as well as a version of In The Garden – originally featured on 2017’s Three Worlds: Music from Woolf Works, another ballet collaboration with McGregor – recorded at Spotify Studios in New York in 2017. Also included are Mercy, which was recorded live at Berlin’s Meistersaal by renowned American violinist Hilary Hahn, who first commissioned it for 2010’s Encores Project, and – an interpretation by Mari Samuelsen of November from Richter’s 2002 debut, Memoryhouse -  taken from her Mari album which was released earlier this year.  The collection contains liner notes by writer and critic Wyndham Wallace.

Go to artist details