Choose artist...
Matt Haimovitz | Christopher O'Riley



Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Matt Haimovitz & Christopher O'Riley: NPR Music Tiny Desk Concert
1 Shostakovich Waltz No 2  
2 Shostakovich Sonata For Cello And Piano Op 40 Allegro non troppo  
3 Allegro  
4 Largo  
5 Shostakovich Sonata For Cello And Piano Op 40 Allegro  
6 Prokofiev Troika from the film score of Lt Kije  
7 Prokofiev Sonata for cello and piano Op 119 Andante grave  
8 Moderato  
9 Allegro ma non troppo  
10 Rachmaninoff - Sonata in G Minor for Cello & Piano, Op.19 / Lento - Allegro moderato  
11 Allegro scherzando  
12 Andante  
13 Allegro mosso  
14 Rachmaninoff - Vocalise  
15 Viktor Tsoi - Kukushka  
16 Pussy Riot - Punk Prayer  
17 John Lennon - Back to the U.S.S.R  
Show all tracks

Acclaimed for their adventurous and wide-ranging recording projects – from Beethoven Sonatas on period instruments to genre-bending arrangements of Radiohead and Arcade Fire – the endlessly inventive duo of cellist Matt Haimovitz and pianist Christopher O'Riley returns to explore music of the Slavic soul. Anchored by the cello sonatas of the iconic triumvirate of Russian composers – Rachmaninoff, Prokofiev, and Shostakovich – and inspired by the subversive irony of Shostakovich's Sonata for Cello and Piano, TROIKA also delves into more recently-written, unexpected, and popular works. Whether subtle or blatantly rebellious, each work potently reveals the strength of the artistic voice in the face of political repression in mother Russia. The 2-SACD recording is on the PENTATONE Oxingale Series.

Go to artist details