Choose artist...
Mark Padmore, Mitsuko Uchida


Decca Classics
Release Date: January 27, 2023

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



1 Beethoven: An die ferne Geliebte Op. 98 / Auf dem Hügel sitz ich spähend  
2 Wo die Berge so blau  
3 Leichte Segler in den Höhen  
4 Diese Wolken in den Höhen  
5 Es kehret der Maien, es blühet die Au  
6 Nimm sie hin denn, diese Lieder  
7 Schubert: Schwanengesang D957 / Liebesbotschaft  
8 Kriegers Ahnung  
9 Frühlingssehnsucht  
10 Ständchen  
11 Aufenthalt  
12 In der Ferne  
13 Abschied  
14 Der Atlas  
15 Ihr Bild  
16 Das Fischermädchen  
17 Die Stadt  
18 Am Meer  
19 Der Doppelgänger  
20 Die Taubenpost  
Show all tracks

Tenor Mark Padmore and Pianist Mitsuko Uchida have received glowing acclaim for their performances of Schubert and Beethoven song repertoire in 2022. “Two Schubert masters,” wrote the New York Times in a review of their Zankel Hall recital in March, “it’s difficult to avoid superlatives when writing about Mitsuko Uchida and Mark Padmore”.

On a new Decca Classics album to be released on 27 January 2023, Uchida and Padmore appear on record for the first time in this live recording from London’s Wigmore Hall. They perform Schubert’s Schwanengesang (his “Swansong”, first published weeks after the composer’s premature death in 1828) and Beethoven’s only major song cycle An die ferne Geliebte. With a lifetime of experience with this music, Uchida and Padmore are the perfect duo to interpret this magnificent repertoire.

Mitsuko Uchida, DBE, has recorded exclusively on Decca Classics and Philips across four decades. Her acclaimed discography, which includes the complete Mozart and Schubert piano sonatas, has earned her two Grammy Awards, a Grammy nomination for her latest album, two Gramophone Awards (including the Piano Award in 2022 for Beethoven’s Diabelli Variations) and two BBC Music Magazine Awards. She is regarded as a peerless interpreter of the music of the First and Second Viennese Schools. Ms Uchida will be touring Europe and the US early next year. 

Go to artist details