Choose artist...
Magos Herrera | Javier Limon


Sony Masterworks | OKeh

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Magos & Limon: Dawn
My Love for You/ Magos Herrera & Javier Limon @Montreux Jazz Festival
1 Afro Blue
2 Blue in Green
3 Dawn
4 La Llorona
5 La Martiniana
6 My Love for You
7 Nature Boy
8 O que tinha de ser
9 Oracao ao tempo
10 Skylark
11 Tierra movida
12 Wild is the Wind
Show all tracks

Every relationship is about the commingling of two unique sensibilities into one harmonious experience. Dawnis a musical romance, bringing together the passion and rhythmic drive of Flamenco with the sultry sophistication and alluring wit of Jazz. As the title implies, Dawn, available on June 3rd on OKeh Records, marks a bold beginning for the partnership between the Mexican-born Jazz vocalist Magos Herrera and the young Spanish Flamenco innovator Javier Limón.

The collaboration between Herrera and Limón represents the blending of two fresh, forward-thinking approaches to their respective musical traditions. Since moving to New York City in 2008, Herrera has brought the sounds of her native Mexico City into the vanguard of modern jazz, collaborating with acclaimed artists such as pianist Aaron Goldberg, guitarist Lionel Loueke, bassist John Patitucci and saxophonist Tim Ries. As a virtuosic guitarist and in-demand producer, Limón has helped to expand the vocabulary of Flamenco music via collaborations with renowned artists like Paco de Lucia, Bebo and Chucho Valdés, Avishai Cohen, and Wynton Marsalis, among others.

"Something that we share is that we do believe that music can be inclusive," Herrera says. "So this means that you can have a Latin jazz singer singing with a Flamenco guitar player."

On Dawn, the pair's unique backgrounds come together on a stunning set of American and Latin jazz masterpieces, including the Miles Davis classic "Blue in Green," Mongo Santamaria's "Afro Blue," and Antonio Carlos Jobim's "O que tinha de ser (What Has to Be)," alongside their own intoxicating original compositions. The duo's refreshing take on these classic tunes stakes out a decidedly 21st century reinvention of these wide-ranging musical traditions, intertwining Herrera's emotive voice with Limón's intricate fretwork.

Go to artist details