Home » Artists » Apres Moi, le Deluge

Luna Pearl Woolf: Bio

The music of composer Luna Pearl Woolf (1973-) has been enthusiastically received across North America and Europe. Noted for her lyricism and wit, Woolf was recently highlighted as a composer and producer on NPR's All Things Considered and has been featured in the "global hit" segment of PRI's The World. Recent premieres include two works with a focus on recent events: Apres Moi, le Deluge, called "the first major work of classical music to commemorate the flooding of New Orleans" (Arts Journal), was premiered in April 2006; and After the Wave, an orchestral response to the 2004 tsunami devastation, commissioned by the Greenwood Music School, premiered in August 2005. Upcoming recordings include a new work for soprano, cello and piano, commissioned by Lisa Delan for release on the Pentatone label, and I am a Fish for soprano and string quartet, commissioned by Jama Jandrokovic and premiered at New York's Alice Tully Hall. Other recent commissions come from cellist Matt Haimovitz, pianist Katherine Jacobson and flautist Eugenia Zukerman, among others.

Woolf graduated summa cum laude in composition from Harvard University in 1996, and also studied at Oberlin College and Conservatory. In 2002, she earned her MA from Smith College. Woolf's principal composition teachers have been Mario Davidovsky, Augusta Read Thomas, Lewis Spratlan and Don Wheelock. Woolf was awarded the Ellen Taafe Zwilich Prize from the IAWM, the John Greene Scholarship and John Knowles Paine Fellowship from Harvard University, and the Settie Lehman Fatman Prize from Smith College. Born and raised in Western Massachusetts, Woolf now makes her home in Montreal.

1 Apres Moi/1  
2 Apres Moi/2  
3 Apres Moi/3  
4 Apres Moi/4  
5 Orpheus on Sappho's Shore/1  
6 Orpheus on Sappho's Shore/2  
7 Orpheus on Sappho's Shore/3  
8 Orpheus on Sappho's Shore/4  
9 Orpheus on Sappho's Shore/5  
10 Orpheus on Sappho's Shore/6  
Apres moi, le deluge - Luna Pearl Woolf with text by Eleanor Wilner
Apres moi, le deluge - excerpts - music by Luna Pearl Woolf
Melange a trois - Luna Pearl Woolf - Trailer

Oxingale Records presents Apres Moi, le Deluge by Luna Pearl Woolf. Releasing the disc on the 1st Ann. of Hurricane Katrina, these 2 recordings include: Apres Moi, Le Deluge, a live concerto for cello, featuring trail-blazing cellist Matt Haimovitz with the U of Wis-Mad Concert Choir, and Orpheus on Sappho's Shore, with the Ensemble contemporain de Montreal, featuring Julieanne Klein and Michiel Schrey

6 New "ON" 7 Total Stations/Shows
Markets include:
Atlanta, Minneapolis, Albuquerque