Choose artist...
Lucie Horsch

Baroque Journey

Decca Classics

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


The Arrival of the Queen of Sheba
LUDWIG Orchestra - Traditional: Simple Gifts
1 van Eyck: Lavolette from Der Fluyten Lust-hof  
2 Handel: 'The Arrival of the Queen of Sheba' from Solomon HWV 67  
3 Bach: Concerto in D minor - I. Allegro  
4 II. Adagio  
5 III. Presto  
6 Bach: 'Erbarme Dich' from St. Matthew Passion  
7 Bach: Badinerie from Suite B minor #2 BWV1067  
8 Castello: Sonata Seconda  
9 Sammartini: Concerto F major - I. Allegro  
10 I. Siciliano  
11 II. Allegro assai  
12 Marais: Couplets de folies  
13 Couperin: 'Le Rossignol en Amour' from 'Troisieme livre de pieces de clavecin'  
14 Naudot: Concerto C major, Op.17 #1 - I. Gaiement  
15 II. Lentement  
16 III. Legerement  
17 Tollett: Divisions on a Ground  
18 Purcell: 'Dido's Lament' from Dido and Aeneas Z626  
19 van Eyck: Engels Nachtegaektje from Der Fluyten Lust-hof  
Show all tracks

Hailed as "a brilliant young performer" by BBC Music Magazine, Lucie Horsch returns to take listeners on a journey around Baroque Europe. Highlights from the album include Handel's "Arrival of the Queen of Sheba," Bach's "Badinerie," the world-premiere recording of a concerto by Jacques-Christophe Naudot, and "Dido's Lament" by Purcell. For her second album, the 19-year-old Dutch recorder player is joined by the Academy of Ancient Music in the ensemble's first Decca recording in over 20 years.

Go to artist details