Choose artist...
Lucas & Arthur Jussen

The Russian Album

Deutsche Grammophon

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



1 Shostakovich Concertino in A Minor for 2 Pianos, Op. 94  
2 Rachmaninov I. Introduction. Alla marcia [Suite No. 2 for 2 Pianos, Op. 17]  
3 Rachmaninov II. Waltz. Presto [Suite No. 2 for 2 Pianos, Op. 17]  
4 Rachmaninov III. Romance. Andantino [Suite No. 2 for 2 Pianos, Op. 17]  
5 Rachmaninov IV. Tarantella. Presto [Suite No. 2 for 2 Pianos, Op. 17]  
6 Stravinsky I. Con moto [Concerto for 2 Pianos]  
7 Stravinsky II. Notturno [Concerto for 2 Pianos]  
8 Stravinsky Var. 1 [Concerto for 2 Pianos III. Quattro variazioni]  
9 Var. 2  
10 Var. 3  
11 Var. 4  
12 Stravinsky IV. Preludio e Fuga [Concerto for 2 Pianos]  
13 Arensky II. The coquette [Suite No. 2, Op. 23 Silhouettes]  
14 Arensky II. Valse [Suite No. 1, Op. 15]  
Show all tracks

The Russian Album is the seventh album by Lucas and Arthur Jussen on the renowned Deutsche Grammophon label. The pianists selected compositions for two pianos by Russian masters Dmitri Shostakovich, Sergei Rachmaninov, Igor Stravinsky and Anton Arensky. Their aim was to capture the essence of Russian music with its unique character, timbre and energy. The compositions reflect some turbulent episodes in Russian history. As Lucas explains: "The romantic aspect is paramount to many admirers of Russian music but there is always another dimension. The feelings of anxiety and oppression are continually present in Shostakovich's work, even when the music itself sounds cheerful. And whilst Rachmaninov's music can emanate pure beauty, it's pervaded with that nostalgic feeling of homesickness. That is the magic of Russian music."

Go to artist details