Home » Artists » Jalbert, Bach, Part & Vasks

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, Kahane-Batjer: Bio

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra (LACO), ranked among the world's top musical ensembles, marks an exciting new era in Southern California as it welcomes Jaime Martín in his debut year as Music Director. Martín builds upon LACO's rich legacy as a preeminent interpreter of historical masterworks and,with eight ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming, a champion of contemporary composers. Headquartered in the heart of the country's cultural capital, LACO is "more important with each passing year," (Los Angeles Times), "America's finest chamber orchestra" (Public Radio International) and "one of the world's great chamber orchestras" (KUSC Classical FM). Martín's appearance as LACO's Music Director Designate in early 2019 was described by the Los Angeles Times, as "a thrilling performance, and the orchestra played like it was having the time of its life," adding, "he will make fans very quickly." Overseas, he has been praised as "a visionary conductor, discerning and meticulous" (Platea Magazine), and London's The Telegraph said, "his infectious enjoyment of the music communicated to the orchestra and audience alike."

Highlights of LACO's 2019-20 Seasoninclude world premieres by Andrew Norman, Juan Pablo Contreras and Derrick Spiva Jr., all LACO commissions; a West Coast premiere by Missy Mazzoli; and a co-commission from Albert Schnelzer and a commission from Sarah Gibson, both inspired by the legacy of Clara Schumann. Martín's debut season showcases several exceptional guest artists with whom he has enjoyed particularly meaningful professional relationships -- mezzo-soprano Anne Sofie von Otter, violinist Christian Tetzlaff and pianist Denis Kozhukhin -- as well as British cello virtuoso Sheku Kanneh-Mason, pianists Jeremy Denk and David Fray and guest conductors Nicholas McGegan and Ruth Reinhardt. As Beethoven's 250th anniversary approaches, Martín leads three of the composer's most revolutionary works. The Orchestra also performs works by Schubert, R. Strauss, Berlioz, Prokofiev, Ravel, Stravinsky and Dvořák. Critically acclaimed composer and 2019 Pulitzer Prize Winner Ellen Reid begins her three-year tenure as LACO's Creative Advisor and Composer-in-Residence, creating new works for the Orchestra on and off the concert hall stage and working closely with Martín to play an important role in LACO's artistic trajectory.

LACO performances create a rich dialogue between audiences and performers. The Orchestra presents seven Orchestral Series concerts at Glendale's Alex Theatre and UCLA's Royce Hall, with select performances at Northridge's The Soraya, Costa Mesa's Segerstrom Center for the Artsand Santa Barbara's Granada Theatre;three Baroque Conversations and three In Focus chamber music concerts at First Presbyterian Church of Santa Monica and The Huntington in San Marino; and two SESSION experiences that explore classical music's cutting-edge sounds and challenge traditional concert-going expectations.

Deeply committed to the power of collaboration, LACO partners with the Inner City Youth Orchestra of Los Angeles (ICYOLA), the country's largest African-American-majority youth orchestra, and USC Thornton School of Music, one of the country's top music programs, to run The Los Angeles Orchestra Fellowship. Launched in August 2018, the groundbreaking two-year training programis designed to increase diversity in American orchestras by providing top-tier, post-graduate string musicians from underrepresented communitiesa 360-degree view of a career as an orchestral musician.

LACO's long history of educational outreach further encompasses programs that reach thousands of young people and inspire a love of the invigorating power of classical music.

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra was founded in 1968 as an artistic outlet for the recording industry's most gifted musicians. Founder and cellist James Arkatov envisioned an ensemble that would allow these conservatory-trained players to balance studio work and teaching with pure artistic collaboration at the highest level. LACO presented its first performances with the financial backing of philanthropist Richard Colburn and managerial expertise from attorney Joseph Troy, who became the Orchestra's first president. Sir Neville Marriner, Gerard Schwarz, Iona Brown, Christof Perick and Jeffrey Kahane, LACO's illustrious Music Directors, each built upon a tradition of joyous music-making performed by exceptional artists as adept in the Baroque as in the music of today, and Jaime Martín continues this tradition.The Orchestra has made 32 recordings, including, most recently, a 2019 BIS Records release of works for violin and chamber orchestra that features Concertmaster Margaret Batjer and the world premiere recording of Pierre Jalbert's Violin Concerto (a LACO co-commission). LACO, with offices located in downtown Los Angeles, has toured Europe, South America and Japan, and performed across North America.

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, Kahane-Batjer

Jalbert, Bach, Part & Vasks


Click Here For Artist Stories

1 Jalbert: Violin Concerto (2017)) - I. Sou 14:25
2 II. Wi 11:58
3 Bach: Violin Concerto in A Minor BWV 1 /1 3:39
4 2 - 6:00
5 3 - 3:47
6 Arvo Part: Fratres 10:29
7 Peteris Vasks: Lonely Angel
Margaret Batjer on Jalbert, Bach, Part & Vasks

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra - Jalbert, Bach, Pärt & Vasks - Jeffrey Kahane, Margaret Batjer, violin music for violin and orchestra   on BIS

Making their first appearance on BIS, Margaret Batjer and the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra (LACO) cross great  distances in both time and space in this programme of  concertante violin works. The disc opens with a Violin Concerto by the American composer Pierre Jalbert (b.  1967), whose music has been described as ‘rich in  instrumental colour and harmonically engaging.'

Crossover Media Projects with: Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, Kahane-Batjer