Choose artist...
Long Yu - Shanghai Symphony Orchestra

The Song Of the Earth - Mahler, Ye Xiaogang

Deutsche Grammophon

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio


1 Mahler: Das Lied von der Erde - Das Trinklied vom Jammer der Erde  
2 Der Einsame im Herbst  
3 Von der Jugend  
4 Von der Schonheit  
5 Der Abschied _Die Sonne scheidet  
6 Der Abschied_ MaBig  
7 Der Abschied _Er stieg vom Pferd  
8 Xiaogang Ye: The Song of the Earth op_ 47 - Tale of Sorrowful Song  
9 Banquet at Tao Family_s Pavilion  
10 Imitation of Old Poem; Long Autumn Night  
11 Lotus-Picking Song  
12 Feelings upon Awakening from Drunkenness on a Spring Day  
Show all tracks

Centuries-old Chinese poetry is brought vividly to life in a new recording from Long Yu and the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra. Their second album for Deutsche Grammophon, The Song of the Earth, is set for international release on 09 July 2021. Recorded in Shanghai with soloists Michelle DeYoung, Brian Jagde, Liping Zhang and Shenyang, it pairs Gustav Mahler's symphonic song-cycle Das Lied von der Erde ("The Song of the Earth"), based on German translations of seven ancient Chinese poems, with the world premiere recording of Xiaogang Ye's settings of the same texts in the original Mandarin.

Long Yu is passionate both about breaking down barriers between different cultures and about promoting new music by contemporary composers from China and across the world. He has brought international orchestras and a wide range of western classical music to China, toured the West with Chinese orchestras, and commissioned dozens of works from composers as varied as Qigang Chen, Tan Dun, Philip Glass and Krzysztof Penderecki.

Go to artist details