Choose artist...
Lauren Kinhan

Circle In A Square

Press Release

Read press

Artist Details

Read bio

Tour Dates



Circle in a Square - The Making Of
Lauren Kinhan & Peter Eldridge of New York Voices on the Jazz Cruise
Lauren Kinhan: The Checkout Live at Berklee
1 Circle In A Square
2 My Painted Lady Butterfly
3 Another Hill To Climb
4 Chasing The Sun
5 I'm Lookin' For That Number
6 To Live Or Die
7 Pocketful Of Harlem
8 We're Not Going Anywhere Today
9 Chaussure's Complex
10 Bear Walk
11 Vanity's Paramour
12 The Deep Within
Show all tracks

Her Third Solo Album Lauren Kinhan's 'Circle In a Square' Features a Cast of Masters, Including Randy Brecker, Romero Lubambo, Donny McCaslin, Joel Frahm, and Gary Versace

While Lauren Kinhan is best known for her ongoing two-­-decade tenure in the internationally renowned New York Voices, she has steadily established herself as a powerful composer in her own right. Following up on her acclaimed 2010 album Avalon, she offers an emotionally incisive and melodically enticing set of new songs on Circle In a Square, which is slated for release on January 7, 2014 on Dotted i Records. Long recognized as a poised and penetrating musical interpreter, Kinhan focuses on telling her own stories with songs seasoned by life and the contributions of some of jazz's most evocative improvisers.

Working with ace pianist/keyboardist Andy Ezrin, veteran bassists Will Lee or David Finck interchangeably and the supremely supple drummer Ben Wittman, whose credits include Don Byron, Laurie Anderson and Paul Simon, Kinhan maintains the core rhythm section throughout the project. Without a trace of fussiness, she treats each track as a finely etched entity unto itself, bringing together just the right combination of elements.

"Twenty-­-five years ago I up and moved from my cozy Columbus Avenue apartment in Boston and departed for the mystery and magic of Gotham. Those were ambitious days, full of hard knocks, slinging beers as a waitress, gigging and discovering my musical path. Fast forward to today: I wanted to mark this milestone with a body of work that incorporates all the things I've learned along the way," says Kinhan, who produced the album with Elliot Scheiner, a studio maestro with 24 Grammy Award nominations and seven Grammys.

Go to artist details