Home » Artists » Avalon

Lauren Kinhan: Bio

Singer/Songwriter Lauren Kinhan has been creating genre-merging music for years as evidenced in her latest collection of songs. Avalon is another fine example of how she comfortably bridges the jazz and adult alternative worlds. The last 18 years of her career have taken her all over the world and allowed her to work with some of the industry's great artists. Parenthood influenced the album's thematic depth and provided a beautiful filter in which to experience this growing repertoire. Avalon speaks elegantly to solitude, love, life,
loss and JOY!

Legendary Phil Ramone describes Lauren as a true songstress, "She is musical, lyrical, and really delivers vocally." Phil produced Lauren's debut release, Hardly Blinking, in 2000. Avalon is a good look at some of the mile markers since then. Her versatility in singing and contributing original music is evidenced in her years with New York Voices, and co-founding Moss and JaLaLa. Moss, made up of Luciana Souza, Kate McGarry, Theo Bleckmann, Peter Eldridge and Lauren, released their self titled CD in 2008 to rave reviews. In 2010, it was included in DownBeat's Best CDs of the 2000s. JaLaLa is short for Janis Siegel, Laurel Mass? and Lauren, and they released their tribute to Johnny Mercer, That Old Mercer Magic, in 2009. "Spring, Spring, Spring" was selected from their CD to be on the soundtrack of Clint Eastwood's documentary of Mercer titled, The Dream's on Me.

Avalon features some of Lauren's closest friends who happen to be some of New York's finest musicians. It is a rich project with well crafted arrangements highlighting Lauren's supple voice and prose while leaving room for great instrumental moments. Ben Wittman, the singer-songwriter "whisperer," co-produces this project brilliantly. Peter Eldridge, fellow New York Voices band mate, plays piano and co-pens some songs. Jonatha Brooke joins her on "Here After" while Rob Mounsey adds an exquisite string arrangement. Romero Lubambo guests on "Until You're Mine" and "Here is My Avalon" and Donny McAslin and Joel Frahm add their signature horn handiwork. Andy Ezrin is also featured on piano and B3 organ. The sophisticated and nuanced attention to detail is present throughout the recording.

Lauren has been serving as a Board of Governor for the Recording Academy since 2008 and sits on their sub committees for Education, Jazz and Grammy Career Day. She is a graduate of the Berklee College
of Music.

1 Until You're Mine  
2 Here Is My Avalon  
3 Here After  
4 Move Over Sunshine  
5 Hide the Moon and Stars  
6 Screaming Savoir Faire  
7 Writing on the Wall  
8 Dory and a Single Oar  
9 Savor the Wine  
10 As If  
11 There Alone Go I  
12 Avalon Reprise  
Lauren Kinhan @ Scullers 5-26-10 Dory and a Single Oar
Lauren Kinhan & Peter Eldridge of New York Voices on the Jazz Cruise
Lauren Kinhan: The Checkout Live at Berklee

Lauren Kinhan has been - and is - many things in her life: vocalist, songwriter, producer, musician, mother and wife. For most of her career, she's been best known as a member of the highly acclaimed jazz vocal group, The New York Voices. As if to solidify her reputation as a group singer, in the past few years she's also been performing regularly with two additional vocal ensembles, the more experimental Moss and the more traditional JaLaLa. But it's high time that Ms. Kinhan got around to making a "solo" album - one where the focus is on her own singing and writing and interpretation. E1 Music is proud to release: Avalon, which spotlights Lauren Kinhan as both singer and composer - from beginning to end. Her previous solo project is Hardly Blinking, produced by the legendary prince of pop Phil Ramone in 2000, which was released by Kinhan independently.

12 New ON this week: 64 Total
Synd: BetterTV
Markets include: Boston, Cleveland, Denver, Austin New Orleans, Long Is. NY, St. Louis, Indianapolis, Milwaukee, Memphis
Online: BetterTV, RadioIO, Taintradio, Jazzweekly.com, Jazz From Gallery 41, The Jazzy Vegetarian, WGOE